Peanut Butter Heaven!

IMG_2977

The Jenga tower is optional 🙂

If you were to walk into the living area in my apartment you’d see scraps of paper all over the place (unless I’ve just done a panic clean up if someone IMPORTANT is coming over!) Scraps of paper where I’ve scribbled recipes down, torn out pages of newspapers and magazines with recipes on them or just a pile of printed out pages from Donal Skehan or BBC Good Food websites – I mean I do buy recipe books,(too frickin many!) but I’m always coming across others that I want to try.

As well as me tearing my mags and papers to shreds, every time I arrive to my lovely Mother’s for dinner there’s usually a couple of scraps of paper waiting for me too. This week is was for Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars. I haven’t made anything with peanut butter for ages and this is a nice simple “no bake” recipe so said I’d give it a shot…. yeah, I was feeling lazy this week!!

The recipe was given in US measurements too and as there’s a few followers to by blog on WordPress in the States I’ll put both in on this recipe. I seriously can’t get my head around the cups way of measuring ingredients…. how can 225g of one thing be one cup and 200g of another be 2 cups….ok I know, I know, they are totally different products but it just baffles me! Anyway – here we go….

Ingredients List

225g (1 cup) butter, melted
200g (2 cups) plain digestive biscuits, blitzed into fine crumbs
260g (2 cups) icing sugar / confectioners sugar
260g (1 cup) plus 4 tablespoons smooth peanut butter
175g (1 cup) dark or semi-sweet chocolate, broken up

You’ll need a square / rectangle baking tin, like a brownie tin or something similar…. anything square or rectangle in shape will do to be honest.

1. If you’ve got a food processor, blitz the digestives. Me, being kinda backward and not having one, put them into sandwich bags and battered them with a rolling pin for a while…. noisy to say the least! But does the job. You don’t actually want them to be a very fine mix as you would with a cheesecake base, you still want some little chunks to give some bite to the bars.

2. Throw the biscuit mix into your mixing bowl and sieve in the icing sugar. Melt the butter in the microwave and pour into the dry mixture. Stir really well then add in the 260g peanut butter. It should melt into the mix when you stir it with the heat of the melted butter. Use a fork and stir it really well. I actually found that the mix was a bit runny so I got another few bikkies and bashed them up and threw them in… try to have an extra few on hand for this just in case.

3. Grease and line your baking tin. You aren’t actually “baking” this mixture at all but lining the tin just makes it easier to take the whole end result out of the tin. Press the mixture into the bottom of the baking tin and set aside.

4. Now melt the chocolate – I do this in the microwave but if you prefer to do it the long way around and melt it over boiling water then it’s all much of a muchness… except for the time you’ll spend doing that! Once the chocolate is almost melted, put in the remaining 4 tablespoons of peanut butter and throw it back in the microwave for another few seconds. Then mix really well until the mixture is smooth. (yummmmmmsville!)

5. Pour the melted chocolate-peanut butter mixture on top of the biscuit layer. Put it into the fridge for a couple of hours to set.

IMG_2972

With all of these “no bake” things that you leave to set in the fridge, I find it best to take them out after a couple of hours and cut through them with a massive knife, before they get so hard in the fridge that you struggle to get the knife through! So I say, take it out after a few hours, cut into nice rectangles and then throw back into the fridge to set a bit more or leave overnight if you like after you’ve cut them up.

That’s it – Simples! 

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

5 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Heaven!

  1. Uh! These look interesting, definitely must try! I feel your “pain” about cups measurement though, it took me hours to understand what kind of cup…a big mug, a medium mug, a plastic cup?!? Lol But, I made a cheesecake with a US recipe yesterday, which was already a challenge simply to find the ingredients here in Italy, plus all the measurements were in cups :O I was really in fear it wouldn’t turn out too well after measuring all the cups and mugs at home… but surprisingly it did 🙂

    Have a lovely day 🙂

    • They are absolutely addictive!!
      D’you know I’ve bough the cup measurement things but they’ve never been used – I will have to brave it and try one out!
      Thanks for the comment 🙂

  2. These remind me of the peanut butter Rice Krispies treats we make in the US…do you have Rice Krispies cereal there? lol…

    I just had to comment on the cups discussion – my understanding is that when pioneer women used to cook back in the day, they’d scoop out and measure with their cups that they’d drink out of. They’d even bake with them, hence the cupcake.

    When measurements became standardized a cup became 8 ounces, and each ounce is about a tablespoon. 1/2 cup is 4 tablespoons or about 4 ounces, 1/4 cup two tablespoons or about two ounces. This, of course, holds true for most wet ingredients, but dry ingredients vary according to the size and weight of the items one is measuring. One cup of flour is about 8 ounces, which is maybe why a cup became 8 ounces.

    I’ve always used Pyrex measuring cups for my wet ingredients, they’re heavy glass and can go in the microwave, and on one side is the American measure of cups, the other side gives measurement in ml.

    For dry ingredients, the little metal cups we use allow us to level off the top and be more accurate, and they come, usually, in one cup, 2/3 cup, 1/2 cup and 1/4 cup sizes.

    When I make recipes that I’ve found from other countries, since I don’t have any other way to measure, I have to pull out my scale to measure grams, etc, which is much easier than trying to figure out the conversions!

    It really is like thinking in another language when I make a recipe from somewhere else – and at first I was really anxious about it – now that I’ve done it a few times I found out it really wasn’t so bad. It’s just a lot of thinking and doesn’t come second nature…

Leave a Reply

