Taste of Dublin 2013

HEADER

What’s your favourite day of the year? Your birthday? Christmas Day? Mine is DEFINITELY the day in June that I go to Taste of Dublin. Every year I get so excited about it… yes,it’s a little sad to be THAT excited about going out for food and drinks but such is my food obsessed life 🙂

So on Saturday myself and a few friends went into town for our usual pig out day in the Iveagh Gardens. The forecast all week had been for rain so we were happy campers when the sun came out nice and early and didn’t disappear until well after we’d finished eating, drinking and being merry.

IMG_3928

I’ve been going to this food festival for about 5 years now. It’s always such a great day. Lots of Dublin’s top restaurants are there, with each restaurant offering 3 tapas sized dishes. Most of the dishes are between 5 and 7 euro each. I know a lot of people think it’s a bit of a rip off to pay into such an event and then pay for food and it does work out to be an expensive day but to be honest it’s worth every penny! There’s the odd freebies as you go around, bits of cheese, bread, crackers, plus small tasters of desserts and wine. O’ Brien’s wine have a tent and run wine tasting sessions. There’s a stage with live music being played and lots of grassy open areas with beanbags and benches to plonk your bum on and take it all in.

We spent the day picking our fave dishes to eat, drinking bottles of champers and prosecco and just lapping up the sunshine and atmosphere.

Here’s some pics of my best bits below… if you love your food and drink and you’ve often thought about going but never made it there then you MUST go next year – I promise you’ll love it as much as I do.

IMG_3921

L-R:  Sirloin of dry aged beef from Brasserie Le Pont, Bottle of Mumm with some lovely red roses, Vegetarian Punjabi Samosa from Jaipur & lastly the Prosecco bar… my fave 🙂

IMG_3929

First time trying Lobster Roll – yum!

IMG_3923

L-R: Yet another bottle of Prosecco, dessert was white chocolate ice cream & warm summer berries from Wineport Lodge, The flower display at Jaipur’s stand my all time fave Gerbera, scallops serves on the shell from Brasserie Le Pont

IMG_3924

L-R: Fish cake from Clodagh’s Kitchen, Again the pretty roses at the Mumm stand, I couldn’t leave without some Lindt choccie, a shot of the crowd

IMG_3926

L-R: Fountain at the Iveagh Gardens, Myself and my Bessie, a few cocktails to finish the day off, some sort of curried rice ball… was a tad worse for wear by then so can’t remember where it’s from – sorry!! 🙂

IMG_3850

Chilling out in the sunshine 😀

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

7 thoughts on “Taste of Dublin 2013

    • Ah no! The weather makes all the difference there so we were blessed. Although last year we got pretty wet but still had a ball. I wanted to go back again on Sunday but was too hungover and broke! 🙂

  1. I went to Tast – and while I loved the food I thought it was outrageously priced! Tickets are €26 euro and then you end up spending a fortune on florins. €7 for a tiny taste of food when you’d get a whole meal for that from a take out! Left the place totally broke and I don’t think I’ll be going back again.

      • I know it’s an expensive day all round but I still think it’s worth it. The dishes are just like buying tapas, same price range. And we were paying just 20 euro for a bottle of prosecco… a lot cheaper than most pubs in Dublin. I think if they lessened the entrance fee to about 10/15 euro it would be more reasonable but tbh for quality and quantity of food I really don’t think it’s too bad value!

Leave a Reply

