Muffin Donuts!

IMG_4118

Genius or what….A cross between a muffin and a donut! I can take ZERO credit for this one as I got the recipe from another blog, Holly’s Pantry. I love this blog – check it out here: http://hollyspantry.blogspot.ie/

I’ve never tried to make proper donuts and when I saw her take on them and how simple they looked I said I’ve gotta give these a go. They’re quick and easy to make and the only messy bit is rolling them around and covering in sugar…. slightly greasy buttery hands, but AAAAAALLLLL worth it when digging into a nice hot mo-nut with warm gooey jam!

Ingredients List

400g Self Raising Flour
1/2 Teaspoon Baking Powder
Pinch Salt
200g Granulated Sugar
2 Large Eggs
1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
100ml Buttermilk
140g Unsalted Butter, melted

12 Teaspoons of Jam, lemon curd, or any type of conserve you want to fill them with. I used my fave, raspberry jam.

200g Granulated Sugar
75g Melted Butter

1. Preheat oven to 190C, slightly lower for fan ovens.

2. Butter a 12 hole muffin tin or fill with muffin liners. The muffin liners will make it easier but then you won’t be covering the bottom with the sugar so I say go all out and butter the tray.

3. Sieve together the flour, salt and baking powder.

4. Stir through 200g of granulated sugar and make a well in the centre.

5. Beat the eggs,buttermilk and vanilla extract together. I actually had no buttermilk so made my own using 100ml milk and the juice of half a lemon.

6. With a fork, mix the buttermilk and melted butter into the flour mixture. The batter won’t be at all like your normal cake batter, it’s much thicker (the raw batter freak in me of course had to taste it and it’s nice – pretty sugary though!)

IMG_4076

7. Into each muffin hole, spoon 1 dessert spoon of batter, pretty loaded up so the jam doesn’t sink to the bottom or anything.

8. Make a little well in the centre of the batter and spoon in 1 teaspoon of jam, conserve or lemon curd, whichever you prefer.

9. Top with a heaped teaspoon of batter. Bake for about 20 minutes or until they start to turn an golden colour.
Take out of the oven and let cool for 5 minutes.

Now run a knife around the edge of the mo-nuts and take them out carefully – if any have stuck to the bottom you may pull the tops off so be gentle! πŸ™‚

IMG_4077

Melt the other 75g butter then dip the mo-nuts in to the melted butter and roll them about in granulated sugar, trying to cover as much of them as possible.

IMG_4078

They should look something like this inside – Yes please!!

IMG_4119

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

7 thoughts on “Muffin Donuts!

    • Jhuls I am DEFINITELY not able for the cronut yet. I’m so bad with pastry. These are a nice easy “quirky” thing to make … until we are brave enough to attempt the cronut πŸ˜‰

      • Yes. We will be dealing with Cronuts when we are ready. I just made homemade donuts so I think I will be able to do cronuts but not soon enough. Have a nice day. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

