Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies

IMG_4370

Why is it that I’m cursed with such a love of food that isn’t good for me 😦 If it’s not chocolate or cake I’m craving it’s peanut butter! Cursed I tell you! I love the crunchy one and how it’s got a mix of sweet and savoury going on that just works well together. Every once in a while I get a craving for it and decide I’ll make something yummy with it. Off I pop to the shops, come back and get my ingredients all ready but I just can’t resist a spoonful of it before I start…yuuuuuuuum πŸ™‚

So this recipe I got from the young Irish chef, Donal Skehan. I’ve a pile of his recipes printed out that I want to get through so you may hear more of him here in the future. These are really simple to make and look great too. Plus there’s oats in them… oats = healthy… right?!

Ingredients List
150g caster sugar
120g light soft brown sugar
50g crunchy peanut butter
175g butter, softened
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 large eggs
200g plain flour
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
250g rolled oats

For the Filling
250g crunchy peanut butter
100g butter, softened
150g icing sugar, sifted

You’ll need about 3 baking trays with some greaseproof paper.

Let’s start!

1. Preheat the oven to 180Β°C or about 160 for fan oven (350Β°F), Gas Mark 4 and line the baking sheets with greaseproof paper.

2. In your mixing bowl, beat together the two sugars, peanut butter, butter and vanilla extract until they are smooth. Add the eggs, one by one, mixing well after each.

3. Sieve in the flour and bicarbonate of soda until they are completely mixed in. Using a spoon, fold through the oats until combined.

4. Place 40 tablespoons of the mixture on the baking sheets. I know you won’t think you’ll get 40 but try get in and around that anyway otherwise your cookies will be huge and once sandwiched together they look more like a burger than a cookie sandwich! (Trust me on that one… I had to cut mine up before giving them to people!

IMG_4368

Bake for about 15 minutes until golden brown. You may need to swap the trays halfway through the cooking time to get an even colour.

5. Take the trays from the oven and leave to cool for about 10 mins before moving the cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

6. For the filling, beat together the peanut butter, butter and icing sugar in a bowl until blended. Add about a tablespoon of the mixture to the flat side of 20 of the cooled cookies and then sandwich together with the rest of the cookies.

IMG_4369

You will then have something like this!

IMG_4147

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

Leave a Reply

