Chocolate Cinnamon Crumb Squares

IMG_5153

I had a nice lazy long weekend this week. I was WORN OUT after my hols followed by a big weekend of eating and drinking the week before plus had a pretty manic week in work too so I was glad of the rest.

I often have all these intentions of not moving from the sofa, either catching up on the junk I’ve recorded on the TV or else reading a book… but after about half an hour I’m like “I want to bake!!” – OK, in reality it’s after about 10 minutes 🙂

This time I really wanted to make a peanut butter cheesecake I’ve had in my head for a while but I was too damn lazy to leave the house to go to buy ingredients so I dug out my recipe books and looked for something I could make with the basics I had at home already.

I’ve got 2 fave recipe books. One is the Marian Keyes one (recipe coming from that one soon!) and the other is the BBC Good Food “201 Perfect Cakes & Bakes” which is where I took this recipe from. Easy as pie and uses very basic ingredients too…. plus they taste great. They’re a lot lighter than my usual heavy chocolate treats but are enough to satisfy your sweet tooth.

Ingredients List

For the Crumb
50g / 2oz Plain Flour
1 Tablespoon Cocoa Powder
2 Teaspoons ground Cinnamon (If you like a stronger cinnamon taste throw in 3 teaspoons)
50g / 2oz Light Muscovado Sugar
50g / 2oz butter, cut into pieces

For the Cake
200g / 7oz Dark Chocolate, broken into pieces (Yes DARK, no milk chocolate here please!)
175g / 6oz butter, softened
200g / 7oz Light Muscovado Sugar
3 Eggs
175g / 6oz Self Raising Flour
Icing Sugar, for dusting

You will need a shallow-ish rectangle baking tray, I used a Brownie tray and it was the perfect size

1. Heat the oven to 170°C or about 150 for a fan oven / Gas 3. Butter and line your baking tray.

2. For the topping, sieve in your flour, cocoa powder and cinnamon into a bowl. Add the sugar and butter then mix well with your fingertips until it forms a crumble. If you have a food processor (I don’t!), you can use this and save yourself the effort. Set the bowl aside for now.

IMG_5154

3. In your mixing bowl, put the butter, sugar and eggs. Beat well with a fork for a couple of minutes.
Sieve in the flour and fold together with a spoon.

4. Melt your chocolate either in the microwave or the old school traditional way in a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering boiling water. I know lots of people don’t like dark chocolate but when making cakes you really need the dark chocolate. Milk chocolate is just too light and the cake will be very wishy washy and just won’t have a strong enough taste – so dark choc, I INSIST!! 

5. Once melted, stir the chocolate into the cake mix and make sure it’s evenly mixed in.

6. Pour the mixture into the tin and smooth out the top.

IMG_5155

Sprinkle the crumble over the top evenly and bake for about an hour.

Leave it in the tin to cool down before taking it out and cutting up.

IMG_5119

These are great heated up for about 20 seconds and served with some ice cream.

Enjoy! 🙂

IMG_5146

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Cinnamon Crumb Squares

Leave a Reply

