Snickers Cheesecake

IMG_5131

Not only is Marian Keyes my favourite chick lit author and my absolute favourite Twitter rambler (she is HILARIOUS!), she’s also got a really great cookbook called Saved by Cake. Fans of Marian might know that beginning in 2009 she went through a pretty tough time battling depression.

The first chapter of the book had me in tears. She speaks so openly and honestly about how she felt. With a bit of a history of depression in my family, hearing an honest account of feelings like that really strikes a cord with me. In her own words she felt like she’d woken up in a horrible nightmare and felt desperate and terrified. She even had a suicide bag prepared.

One day Marian decided to bake a cake for a friend’s birthday and she got hooked. She found it passed the day and took her mind off everything else. So she baked like crazy and that’s how the cookbook came about. With tears in my eyes I had to laugh at this sentence “To be perfectly blunt about it, my choice sometimes is: I can kill myself or I can make a dozen cupcakes. Right so, I’ll do the cupcakes and I can kill myself tomorrow.”

She has such a great sense of humour and throughout the book she will bring a smile to your face. The recipes are brill and everything is explained really clearly – my absolute favourite cookbook so far anyway, I love her!

So anyway – back to business….the recipe! I’ve wanted to make this for yonks but have a bit of an aversion to baked cheesecakes. I’ve only ever tasted one and it was absolutely amazing, but I just like making the nice easy no bake, fridge ones. So while I’ve drooled over the pics of this one in the book, I’d never gotten around to making it – till now! Marian calls it “Blokey Snickers Cheesecake Loaf” and it is a pretty substantial cake…. not for anyone on a diet!

It would probably work equally as well in a normal round cheesecake form but I like the loaf way of making it.

So here we go!

Ingredients List

Base
150g Milk Chocolate Digestive Biscuits
50g Salted Peanuts
75g Butter (not marg)

Filling
250g Mascarpone Cheese
250g Ricotta Cheese
200g Caster Sugar
2 eggs
200ml Sour Cream
4 Snickers Bars, chopped into chunks

To decorate
Squeezy Toffee Sauce out of a squeezy bottle
Handful of Salted Peanuts

1. Preheat the oven to 170°C / 150° fan oven / 325°F / Gas 3. Line a 2lb loaf tin with greaseproof or baking paper. I use these disposable ones that I’ve bought in Tesco.

2. If you have a food processor whizz up the biscuits and peanuts. I don’t have one so I just bash them all up in sandwich bags. You want this mixture to be a bit rough and ready, not totally blitzed… you should still be able to see parts of the peanuts. Throw the dry mix into a bowl.

3. Melt the butter in the microwave and stir into the biscuit mix. Mix it really well, you don’t want lumps with too much butter and bits with none. Tip this into the lined loaf tin and flatten out with the back of a spoon, press it down to get it well flattened. Bake this for 15 mins then take from the oven and allow it to cool. Once it’s cooled for a bit, throw it in the fridge to set for a few hours.

IMG_5124

4. So onto the filling. Preheat the oven to the same temp as before.  In your mixing bowl, beat the 2 cheeses together with a fork. Add in the sugar and eggs and beat well. Pour in the sour cream and throw the snickers pieces in then mix it all together … lots of mixing going on here J

5. Pour the mixture into the tin on top of the biscuit base and bake for an hour and a half.

IMG_5125

6. Don’t have a heart attack when you look through the over door and see that the cake is gone all brown on the top – fear not, that’s meant to happen!

7. After the hour and a half, turn the oven off and leave the cake sitting in the heat of the oven for ages, like an hour. I’m VERY impatient so the first time I made this I didn’t leave it in the oven as I just wanted to eat some right away but most normal people will have the willpower to leave it and you’ll be thankful for it. Mine definitely could’ve done with that hour just sitting in the heat to set slightly more.

8. Leave the cake to cool for a while then refrigerate overnight – again it will help the cake set right if you do this …. Impatient Kate didn’t do this L

9. Serve with the toffee sauce drizzled all over the top and throw some of the peanuts over it too. I couldn’t find toffee sauce in Aldi so I had chocolate sauce and it still went well.

So there you have it – my first baked cheesecake! I will be making more 🙂

IMG_5126

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

19 thoughts on “Snickers Cheesecake

    • I don’t actually mind it on toast or whatever but it’s a big no no for me in baking! Butter is so much better for the textures of things but there’s also the whole issue of not heating marg past a certain temp etc.

Leave a Reply

