La Sirena, Malahide *** NOW CALLED PACIFICO***

top image

I have just seen that La Sirena is now trading as Pacifico. They do not seem to have a website yet but once it is updated I will post the link! From what I can see on the La Sirena Facebook they still have a very similar Mexican style food menu. Read my original review below.

Another restaurant deal for the bargain hunter in me! This one from DealRush offered 2 starters and 2 mains for €22 in La Sirena Mexican restaurant in Malahide.

I’ve eaten here once before and loved it. For me, it’s more of a lunch or early dinner place as it’s not too dressy or fancy. A couple of weeks ago we headed off for a Sunday stroll on the beach in Portmarnock and then went on to Malahide for a bite to eat. The restaurant is situated right beside the marina in Malahide and has lovely views of the water and boats – very nice on a sunny day like we had.

We arrived at about 3pm and the place was almost full. We were seated by the waiter and I ordered a nice glass of Malbec – very reasonable at €5.25.

Then we got stuck into the menu. We were both STARVING so wanted something pretty filling. They’ve a pretty substantial lunchtime menu with starters of nachos, prawns in batter, chicken wings, tortilla soup and mussels.
E was feeling brave and went for the prawns (he’s not a big fish eater :-)) and I went for the nachos.

The portion size of the prawns was slightly small… just 3 prawns with the salad. However they did taste good, nice and juicy with a crispy batter and the chipotle and lime aioli they were served with was yummy.
IMG_5263

My nachos were fab. I love nachos but often find if you get beef nachos to start you’re almost full by the time you get your main. So I was glad these were the veggie nachos, served with some salsa and jalapenos and a LOAD of cheese.
IMG_5264

Loads of standard Mexican options for main courses also, from Beef Chilli, Enchiladas or Fajitas to Meatballs, Burritos or Mussels – and of course a salad option just in case someone feels like being healthy.

For his main course E went for the Beef Burrito…. He’d been talking about it all week so it was a given that he’d be ordering that! Not realising how stuffed he’d be he also got a side of rice. I went for the La Sirena Monterey burger as I felt like pigging out 🙂

The burger comes with cheese, jalapenos and the usual salad bits along with a side of papas fritas which are pretty much patatas bravas. The burger was massive! I had to cut it into quarters never mind in half to be able to eat it without having food everywhere. The beef was cooked well without being cremated and the monterey cheese really added a kick of flavour. I threw half my chips E’s way and then ate every single bite of the rest myself!
IMG_5266

The long awaited Burrito was absolutely bulging with filling. I’ve only ever had a burrito once before and it was minced beef but this one was beef steak and the meat was so soft. The flavours in it were absolutely gorgeous too. E’s eyes were bigger than his belly though and with all the rice in his burrito, the side of rice barely got touched!
IMG_5265

IMG_5267

Despite my constant sweet tooth, there was not a hope in hell that I could even think of dessert! We had both been starving and in the mood to pig out and that we certainly did. We practically rolled out of the place and could barely look at food for the rest of the day. All in we really enjoyed it, pleasant staff, nice location and great Mexican food – made all the better that it was so cheap with the deal!

La Sirena
Marine Court on The Green
Malahide
Co. Dublin

Ph: (01) 8456667

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

4 thoughts on “La Sirena, Malahide *** NOW CALLED PACIFICO***

Leave a Reply

