Early Bird at Shanahan’s on the Green, Dublin

IMG_7001

Being the food obsessed freak that I am, I have a list longer than my arm of places I want to try out. One such was Shanahan’s on the Green….. famous for their steaks,

Seeing as I’m not made of money I went for the Early Bird which runs from Monday – Friday 5.30 to 6.45pm. At €45 for 3 courses I think it’s really very reasonable. So AGES before the day, I booked a table there and spent the next few weeks dying to see if their steak was worth all the hype.

I hadn’t a clue what to expect of the restaurant as only one of my friends has eaten there before and it was so long ago she could barely remember. We were greeted by a lovely lady at the door, our coats were taken and we were shown to our table in the upstairs section by the window looking out towards Stephen’s Green.

Our waiter – I think his name was Robert, was great all the way through the evening, super friendly. First up he came over with a board and a loaf of bread and muffin. I expected him to maybe cut the bread up and leave us with a few bits but I was greedily delighted when he left the small loaf with us. The bread was (I think) onion, rosemary and cheddar cheese. The bread was still hot and the cheese was melting as he cut through it… Robert please leave the table and let me stuff my face with bread! The chive muffin was nice too.. but I was all about that cheese bread πŸ™‚

IMG_6989

We ordered a bottle of wine, Sherwood Estate a New Zealand Marlborough – my fave white wine, and had a look over the menu. Choice isn’t massive but definitely suited us – we were never going to get anything other than steak anyway! To start I got the Trio of Irish Salmon: Oak Smoked, House Cured and Pastrami which came withΒ Blini (pretty much a pancake), CrΓ©me FraΓ­che and Caviar. It. Was. Gorgeous!

IMG_6990

I also loved the way they served the lemon wrapped up with it so I didn’t have lemon pips all over my salmon – these little thingsΒ all add up!

IMG_6992

E got theΒ Roasted Red Pepper soup. I very, very rarely get soup as a starter as I just think it can be pretty bland but this was tasty and well presented. I may have done some bread dipping πŸ™‚

IMG_6991

Big thumbs up for bother starters!

Choices for mains were the Petit Filet (6oz), the New York Strip Sirloin (8oz) and a fish option. STEAK STEAK STEAK!! I was DYING for my steak. I know that people often say there’s more flavour in the other cuts but I tend to go for the fillet almost every time. I just like a nice thick steak with no fat to be chopping around. We both went for the Petit Filet which came with a side of spinach, some mash and the biggest portion of onion rings I’d ever seen.

IMG_6993

IMG_6995

IMG_6994

IMG_6820

The steak may look small but it was really just the perfect amount to eat and not be fit to burst after it. Both were cooked perfectly and were so tasty and juicy. I loved theΒ presentation of the sides too. We handed back empty plates, bar some of the onions…. pigs!

We neededΒ a mini break here just to let some food go down before desert. By now the restaurant was filling up a bit. I know that lots of people think Shanahan’s would be posh and full of rich older people but that wasn’t the case at all. There was an older American couple sitting near us, two groups of lads having a meal together and some small groups of girls. It wasn’t stuffy or pretentious at all and we didn’t feel uncomfortable at any point of our visit.

So – onto desert! We went for the Cookies and Cream cheesecake, topped with a nice Oreo…..

IMG_6821

It was absolutely amazing, definitely the best cheesecake I’ve ever eaten (Sorry Damson Diner you have been knocked off top place!!).

And the Crème Brulee..

IMG_6996

It could have been a slight bit more crispy on top but was really, really lovely.

As they knew it was E’s birthday they also bought out a lovely plate of petit fours with a Happy Birthday message – a lovely touch without the shame of a Happy Birthday singalong for him πŸ™‚

IMG_6822

So after all that we were full to the brim. We sat chatting for a bit then got the bill.

IMG_6998

It wasn’t cheap as early birds go but that was more to do with the bottle of wine and the water I guess. I will say that I hate paying €6.50 for a bottle of still water. The waiter asks if you want still or sparkling and as can happen to me in nicer restaurants I intend to say “just a jug please” but then feel like a total pauper so just get the bottle instead. I do wish they’d say “Do you want a bottle of still, sparkling or just a jug of water?” … if only forΒ  me!

€45 per person for an early bird with this quality of food was money very well spent. We headed down to the Oval bar and had a drink there before toddling off after a fabulous meal.

I am gutted my Shanahan’s experience is over after looking forward to it for so long but I will DEFINITELY be back for more of that steak. And cheesecake!! I’m getting the cheesecake next time!!

Shanahan’s on the Green
119 St. Stephen’s Green
Dublin 2
Ph: 00353 1 407 0939

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ShanahansontheGreen

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

IMG_6997

9 thoughts on “Early Bird at Shanahan’s on the Green, Dublin

  1. The petit filet is more than enough there. It’s HUGE. Did you go downstairs to the Oval Office? Lovely bar for pre drinks. I haven’t been there in about 3yrs, must plan a trip soon πŸ™‚

  2. Oh that looks fab Kate, will defo be popping in there soon, my mouth is watering looking at all that!! Myself and the hubby treated ourselves to a meal at Shanahans a few years ago and I still remember it being one of the nicest meals we ever had. Only problem was we went in starving and ate all the bread cos it was so delish then couldn’t manage the other courses LOL!

  3. Pingback: The Cliff House Hotel, Ardmore, Waterford | kateskabin

  4. Pingback: At the House of the Minis |

  5. Pingback: 5 min with… Kate from Kate’s kabin | The Sunkissed Diary

Leave a Reply

