Gooey Smores Bars!

IMG_7306
Unfortunately I’m just about to do something that I said I wouldn’t do! I swore I’d only do recipes that have pretty simple and basic ingredients that you can get in a normal supermarket as I HATE seeing something that looks so yum but then when you look through the list of ingredients you need about 6 things you can only get from some random food hall or something. Most of my recipes don’t call for anything out of the ordinary – but this one I have to share!

The slightly hard to find ingredient is something I’ve never baked with before – Marshmallow fluff! As far as I’m aware it’s not all that popular over here but in the US it’s BIG – they love it! I got my jar from the food hall in Harvey Nichols in Dundrum but I’ve also seen it in Avoca and I’d say you’d pick it up in Fallon and Byrne.
1384359_488718747901667_742616085_n

I can absolutely promise you that this recipe is well worth the effort to pick that jar up somewhere – these chunks of heaven are completely addictive and I know anyone who tries them will love them just as much as I did 🙂

I came across the recipe online somewhere but can’t remember where so can’t even credit them. To be honest I don’t know whether to credit them or curse them as these are sinfully great but also sinfully bad for you!

Ingredients List
2 eggs
130g of caster sugar
200g of brown sugar
1 tsp of baking soda
175g butter at room temp
a pinch of salt
300g of plain flour
1 pack of chocolate chips
5 digestive biscuits
4 small galaxy chocolate bars
1 tub of marshmallow fluff

1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees or about 160 for a fan oven. Line a tray with baking paper – a brownie tray would be the ideal size. I used a smaller square tray and made a mess of my oven floor as it all expanded and spilled out everywhere! A more rectangular longer tray will spread the mixture out more and you will avoid the mess I made 🙂

2. In your mixing bowl, add the butter, the sugar, the two eggs and beat well. Then add the the salt, the baking soda and sieve in the flour and mix well again until a dough starts to form. Now you can throw in as many chocolate chips as you like, I used the full packet and ensure they’re evenly spread through the mixture.

IMG_7303

3. Spread half of the cookie dough mix and evenly press it into the tray to make the base for the S’mores bars.

4. Place the galaxy chocolate bars on top of the cookie dough. This time I used a cheapo Alpine chocolate bar from Lidl which was gorgeous but Galaxy is my number one choice for these. Then break up five digestive biscuits into little crumbs and scatter over the top of the chocolate bars.

5. This part is a bit messy and sticky! Scoop out the marshmallow fluff and spread over the digestive biscuit crumbs. Then use the remaining cookie mix to cover the top marshmallow fluff. It doesn’t need to be totally covered or anything as the marshmallow fluff will probably burst through anyway.
IMG_7304

Place it in the oven to bake for around 25-30 minutes, until the top is slightly browning.
IMG_7305

When you take the tray out of the oven leave it to cool for around an hour and a half. Then put it in the fridge for half an hour to set the chocolate and marshmallow fluff. Even then it’s still a gooey fluffy mess (in the best kind of way). They are much easier to eat and actually taste a lot nicer a day or two after making them – if you can wait that long! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Gooey Smores Bars!

  1. They have that same marshmallow fluff in aldi at the moment 🙂 glad I bought it now, something new to try with it

Leave a Reply

