Ananda, Dundrum Town Centre

IMG_7631

Whenever someone asks me what’s my favourite cuisine I really struggle to choose between Italian and Indian. I could live on pizza and pasta all day long! But that wouldn’t be all that healthy would it?! 🙂

Indian is definitely up there too – and there’s so much choice and variety with it. My only gripe is that Indian restaurants can often lack atmosphere. Recently though I’ve found a few that have fab interiors, amazing food and also a great atmosphere. First up was Indie Dhaba which I reviewed a few months ago (review here) and the other little gem is Ananda, situated in Dundrum Town Centre.

It took me a while to venture in here as there’s lots of choice around the Pembroke District but once I tried it I was hooked and have been back many times since. I usually try to make their Early Bird, for €24 it’s a starter and main with sides, served from 5.30 – 7 Sunday to Friday and 5.30-6.30 on a Saturday.

So last week with a midweek craving for Indian food myself and my Mam dropped over to Dundrum and nabbed ourselves a table. For 6.30 on a Wednesday evening there were a fair few diners. I think word of mouth plus winning numerous awards like the Food & Wine 2013 Award for Best Ethnic & World Cuisine have increased interest and those who may be reluctant to try shopping centre restaurants are now realising just how good this place is! The décor is modern but cosy and beautiful.

IMG_7628

IMG_7629

We were seated and given some popadoms and a selection of dips to munch on while we looked over the menu.

IMG_7622

I rarely get a salad when I’m out to eat as I’m always left starving but decided on the Beetroot & Goat cheese salad with greens. What arrived was a massive dish with plenty of greens, a generous portion of cheese, some lovely sweet beetroot and caramelised walnuts – absolutely gorgeous!

IMG_7624

Mam got the potato cakes with spiced lentils and a tamarind and date chutney. Another thumbs up!

IMG_7623

The other starter choices sounded just as amazing – crispy batter fried tiger prawns, skewered lamb mince kebab and cardamom and mace spiced chicken supreme … not one starter that I’d turn my nose up at.

Onto mains and again a fair amount of choices. Seafood options of Tiger Prawns in Jalfrezi, Seafood cooked in Coastal Spice Masala or Talipa Fish in Kokum Curry. There were a few chicken options, a nice selection of Vegetarian dishes and then the lamb section which had some lovely choices of Goan style Meatball Curry, Lamb braised in Crown Onion & Cardamom and Lamb simmered in Pepper, Tamarind & Coconut.

I chose the Tiger Prawns in Jalfrezi and Mam went for the Lamb in Pepper, Tamarind & Coconut. Our dishes arrived out with a large side of rice and 2 plain naan breads….. nice and greasy, just how I like them. Our main courses were both faultless.

My prawns were really juicy and while I love a really spicy dish at times, the Jalfrezi was medium in hotness and didn’t require the numerous jugs of water I’d need when eating a Vindaloo!

IMG_7625

I tasted the lamb dish also which was a good bit hotter than mine – it was devine, the lamb was super soft and succulent. The portion size of the sides was just right, we weren’t left wanting more – even though our waiter said to just call if we wanted any extra.

IMG_7626

IMG_7627

We polished off the lot and had no room left for desert. I did spot the table beside us having some lovely petit fours which looked great but I just didn’t have the space in my tum for them. Ananda is without a doubt a step up from most of the Indian restaurants about these days, absolutely fabulous food served by informative and friendly staff in a gorgeous restaurant – what’s not to love!?

Ananda
Sandyford Road
Dundrum Town Centre
Dublin 14
Ph: 003531-296 0099

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AnandaDundrum

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

2 thoughts on “Ananda, Dundrum Town Centre

  1. Pingback: The Curry House, Ranelagh | kateskabin

  2. Pingback: Rasam Restaurant, Glasthule | kateskabin

Leave a Reply

