Rock Lobster, Dundrum

IMG_8002

Jesus Christ – I am WORN OUT from all my Christmas shopping this year. I had a week of Jury Duty in town about 2 weeks ago so I got a fair bit done then and last week I took Friday off work and decided I’d get my last few bits and bobs over in Dundrum. The place was manic! However I did get my final few bits sorted so I can now just enjoy the run up to Christmas without any of that stress 🙂

One thing I love about shopping in Dundrum is the amount of choice you have for a bit of lunch or dinner. I’ve had some great food over there in the likes of Ananda and Beeftro, and with the brand new Rock Lobster restaurant after opening there last week I was looking forward to taking the weight off my feet for a bit while trying out some of their food. I’d heard lots about their original restaurant in Donnybrook – all good things – so was expecting some decent food… and decent food we got!

Rock Lobster have just moved into what was the Brasserie in Harvey Nichols in Dundrum. I had cocktails there a few weeks back and the Brunch in the Brasserie was always on my list to do one Sunday but I never got around to it! It’s a lovely setting, a few levels up and away from the madness of the shops below. We were seated at the window and had a nice view over the Pembroke District and the water feature.

IMG_7995

IMG_7998

Service was slightly slow if I’m honest…. the place was quiet enough but there seemed to be only the one guy serving. We got some water and had a look over the menu. They are predominantly a seafood and steak restaurant but there are a couple of veggie options on each day and a few specials on the board. Mam isn’t big into seafood so she asked about the vegetarian dishes available, there was a pasta dish and a risotto. Not fancying either, she went for the special of a Daube of Beef with a shallot puree and veg.

IMG_7997

I knew what I was getting before even looking at the menu! I’d seen them advertise on Twitter a special of Split Lobster with Salad and Chips for €20 – bargain! I first had lobster in Boston a few months back and loved it so was excited to see how this compared.

We ordered the food and were given a board of some of the softest and freshest bread I’ve ever tasted!

IMG_7996

While there was a bit of a wait on food, when it arrived it was worth the wait! Not only did my Lobster dish look and smell devine, it tasted it too. It was so fresh and tasted fabulous.

IMG_7999

IMG_7951

I admit it’s a little bit messy trying to get all the meat from a lobster and I ended up with liquid dripping all over my hands – not a first date kind of meal! I loved the addition of the capers too for a bit of a salty kick with the salad. The portion size of chips was good and I polished off just about everything on the plate.

Mam’s beef was fall apart soft and almost melted in the mouth and the veg was lovely, cooked through but with a bit of bite sill there.

IMG_8001

After that we had no room for dessert so had a couple of coffees to finish off. The bill came to a very reasonable €43.40. I have to say I really enjoyed the food here. Having been at the bar in the evening time I know it’s also a lovely place for drinks. I love how many restaurants around Dublin now have a bar section too so you can have a few drinks before or after dinner – no doubt I’ll be back soon to try the steak!

Rock Lobster
Sandyford Road
Dundrum
Dublin 14

Ph: 00353 1 291 0410
Web: http://rocklobster.ie/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Dublinlobster

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

Leave a Reply

