Carton House Hotel, Maynooth, Co. Kildare

IMG_7794

Carton House is one of my favourite hotels around Ireland – and with grounds like it has it’s hard to believe it’s so close to Dublin city. It’s a fair drive to the hotel once you go through the main gate, with the golf courses on either side. Once you pull up outside the front of the hotel you can see what all the fuss is about!

IMG_7789

The hotel is separated into the old part and the newer section. Even though I usually love modern places with fresh and bright decor I personally prefer the old part of Carton. While it is older, it’s been kept in great condition and I just love the ceilings and furniture in these old rooms.

IMG_7774

IMG_7781

It’s amazing that the other side of the hotel is so modern!

IMG_7538

I previously stayed in the Summer and it was amazing – the bathroom was the size of my living area! On this visit we stayed in the Ashford. I adored this room, with it’s 4 poster bed, fireplace and large bathroom.

IMG_7768

Without a doubt the best part was the fabulous bathroom. Double sinks, a huge shower, free-standing bath and mood lighting that changes – I loved it! I was in need of some R & R so had a lazy afternoon bath and chilled out for a bit.

IMG_7771

IMG_7769

IMG_7770

The mood lighting in the bathroom was brill, really made it feel like you were in a Spa somewhere instead of just the bathroom. …. Add the bottle of Prosecco and some strawberries to top it off!

IMG_7772

One thing I’ve always said after my visits to Carton is that the food is just fantastic. We ate in the Lindon Tree restaurant that evening and again, the food and service was impeccable.

IMG_7541

Here is the Cured Irish Salmon and the Smoked Duck Breast we had for starters.

IMG_7775

IMG_7776

I’d never had venison before so went for the Braised Venison – so good!

IMG_7777

The Macaroons at dessert were a lovely bite of sweetness.

IMG_7778

IMG_7782

The food was all presented perfectly and I couldn’t fault a single thing.

The bar food is probably some of the best that I’ve had, even the soup of the day was super tasty – and don’t even get me started on the fish and chips!

IMG_7780

IMG_7779

The day I stayed the weather wasn’t great so we didn’t get out for a walk around the grounds. I was there during the summer though and we picked up a map from the reception desk and had a lovely evening walk around the golf course and houses that are on the land. It’s a fabulous place.

IMG_7792

IMG_7787

IMG_7790

IMG_7791

IMG_7788

If you are looking for somewhere to take a break from it all while not being too far from a city, Carton house is the perfect place for it. I am already looking forward to some more lovely walks around it once the weather picks up again – followed by some of their excellent grub!

Carton House
Maynooth
Co. Kildare
Ph: 00353 1 505 2000

Web: http://www.cartonhouse.com/index.html
FB: https://www.facebook.com/CartonHouseIreland

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

3 thoughts on “Carton House Hotel, Maynooth, Co. Kildare

Leave a Reply

