Chocolate Victoria Sponge

IMG_6968

 

I know what you are thinking – I do! ANOTHER chocolate cake! And you are right… I freely admit I adore chocolate cake. My favourite part of making it is when the recipe needs real chocolate instead of cocoa powder and I get to melt a bowl of it in the microwave…. lets just say some of it may occasionally make it’s way into my mouth πŸ™‚

This one is the recipe I generally use when making a chocolate cake for someone who isn’t a total chocoholic like me. There’s no dark chocolate in itΒ which some find too heavy so if they are looking for a lighter cake I tend to go for this one from Odlums. Nice and easy to make and no crazy ingredients.

Ingredients List

For the Cake

250g Self Raising Flour
50g Cocoa Powder
50g Drinking Chocolate
100gΒ Β Ground Almonds
250g Caster Sugar
250g Butter (room temperature)
5 Eggs

For the Icing

340g Icing Sugar
60g Cocoa Powder
200g Butter
Splash milk

1. Preheat oven to 170Β°C/ about 155 for fan oven / 325Β°F/Gas 3. Grease and line two round or square sandwich tins.

2. Sieve the flour, cocoa powder and drinking chocolate into your mixing bowl

3. Add the ground almonds, then all the other ingredients. This is the only cake I’ve really made that you just bung it all in like that and it was a bit strange, but all worked out ok so I just do as I’m told by Odlums πŸ™‚

4. Beat for about 2 to 3 minutes until the mixture is nice and smooth. Pour it into the two tins, dividing it as evenly as possible.

IMG_6966

5. Bake for about 40 minutes until the tops are firm to touch. Leave the cake to cool completely before icing – if you have the time to leave it for about 2 hours perfect.

To make the icing…I don’t use the icing that Odlums recommend with this cake, I just make a standard chocolate buttercream for it. Try to have your butter at room temperature when making buttercream. It’s so so much easier to make it when it’s softer.

1. In a large mixing bowl, sieve the icing sugar into the butter a bit at a time and beat them together like crazy. You could also use an electric whisk but be sure to throw a tea towel over the bowl if you are as icing sugar goes EVERYWHERE with an electric whisk.

2. Add a splash of milk if you need to. Then sieve in the cocoa powder and beat well again.

3. Take your first layer of cake and splodge a chunk of buttercream on top then spread it around with a knife – doesn’t have to look neat or anything. Then place he second cake on top. I usually try to use the flatter topped one for the top layer…..one ALWAYS comes out with a more domed top so I tend to chop off the dome part and use that for the bottom layer then use the naturally flatter one for the top.

IMG_6967

4. With the rest of your icing again plop a big blob on top and spread it around and then using a knife or pallet knife if you have one (I don’t!)Β spread the icing around the sides and neaten it up as much as possible.

I couldn’t take pics of the inside as I was using this to make a chocolate finger / smarties cake for someone. This 2 layer cake is idea for something like that where you are going to do some home decoration yourself.Β Β I will so a quick post on the Chocolate Finger / Smarties / Mini Egg cakeΒ soonΒ soon!

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

Leave a Reply

