Utterly Amazing Carrot Cake!

IMG_5107

When oh when will I be able to buy a bag of freshly grated carrots?! I ADORE carrot cake but grating 300g of them for this cake is painful 😦

It doesn’t discourage me though, this is a fab, moist carrot cake and after many, many attempts of trying to get the icing like it is on the shop bought ones I’m as close to it as I’ll ever be I think.

I made this recently for E’s Mam. I got my grater out and put myself through the obligatory pain of grating carrots and knuckle scratching…. End result was that she loved it and my knuckles didn’t have any permanent damage 🙂

One thing to note – when I say 300g grated I MEAN 300g grated and not the pre grated weight as you will lose a heavy enough chunk of this at the end when you can’t grate them all the way down.

Ingredients List

 Cake
2 eggs
140ml Vegetable Oil
200g Soft Light Brown Sugar
300g Grated Carrots
75g chopped walnuts (optional)
180g Self Raising Flour
Pinch of Salt
½ Teaspoon Bicarbonate of Soda
1 Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
½ Teaspoon Ground Nutmeg
½ Teaspoon Mixed Spice

(I love these flavours so often throw in a little extra, especially of the cinnamon)

For the Icing
200g Philadelphia or any other FULL FAT cream cheese (not the low fat version… it will run straight off the cake!)
450g Icing Sugar
1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
Grated zest of 1 Orange (optional but does make it extra yummy)

You will also need a 2lb loaf tin. I get these disposable ones from Tesco.

IMG_3577

Line it with baking / greaseproof paper.

1. Preheat the oven to 150° or about 140 for fan oven.

2. Beat the eggs in your mixing bowl then add the oil, brown sugar, grated carrot and chopped nuts. Mix them all well together.

3. Sieve in the flour then add in the other dry ingredients and mix well again.

IMG_5097

4. Pour the mixture into the lined tin and smooth the top with a spoon. Bake in the oven for about 1 hour – 1 hour 15…. Stick a skewer in to make sure it’s cooked through and you don’t have any raw cake batter in the middle or bottom of the cake.

5. Cool the cake completely on a wire rack before icing. It’s a large enough heavy cake so it’ll take a few hours for it to chill completely

IMG_5098

6. Meanwhile make the icing…. And I DARE you to get this icing made without licking the spoon at the end 🙂

Start by opening your cream cheese and draining any excess water. I know that I always say to use full fat but HONESTLY if you want the icing to be nice and thick and not just run off the cake and all over your plate then you need full fat, there’s just too much water added to the lower fat versions.

1. Plonk the cream cheese into your mixing bowl and then sieve in 200g of your icing sugar. Mix with a fork until well combined then add your vanilla extract and sieve in your remaining 250g. Mix again.

2. Throw in your grated orange zest if you are using it and again mix well.

This icing is utterly amazing…. I could eat a bowl of it!! Throw it in the fridge to cool for a bit and then just dump it all over your cake.

IMG_5101

It will probably run down the sides a bit but should be thick enough that it doesn’t just run straight off the cake and be all over your serving plate.

Cakes are always that bit easier to cut through the next day. They’ve had time to harden up and won’t fall apart when you bring the knife through so if you have the time this cake is great to make the day before. Overnight in the fridge should leave it well set with a thick icing that is just fabulous!!

Enjoy 🙂

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

2 thoughts on “Utterly Amazing Carrot Cake!

  1. Kate – this sounds really similar to my carrot cake recipe – personally I find that its almost best to wait 2-3 days (if you can!) before cutting. All the spices seem to infuse a bit and the flavour improves over time.

Leave a Reply

