Marco Pierre White’s, Dawson Street

IMG_9393

Recently I’ve been trying to make my way through a few of the newer restaurants that had been on my list to try. A few weeks back though, I decided to visit an old favourite. I’ve been to Marco Pierre’s Steakhouse numerous times over the years – and never had a bad word to say about it. So while myself and E were spending the day in town, we dropped in and availed of the Value Menu there.

It was a Friday early evening and Dawson Street was buzzing… when is it ever any other way these days!? The whole area always has a great atmosphere and with a few new restaurants and bars opened recently, it’s even more popular.

Outside there the restaurant is a lovely covered terrace with heaters and during the summer you have very little chance of bagging these seats! A few were free on this occasion but E was freezing so we went inside and got ourselves a nice cosy spot. The restaurant is smart, yet not stuffy. It feels sort of like a French Brasserie and yet sort of like an American Steakhouse.

IMG_9389

The Value Menu is a pretty good deal offering 2 courses for €19.95 or 3 for €24.95. We weren’t absolutely famished so went for 2 courses and it was decided I’d get starter and main and E get main and dessert…. A bit of sharing and getting the best of both worlds 🙂 

On every previous occasion I’ve gone for the steak – and loved every bite of it! The one problem with the value menu is that steak isn’t an option. There are plenty of other great choices though. Starter options include Soup, Kipper Pâté, Asparagus or Bayonne ham. And for mains there was Pork Chop, Salmon Fish Cake, Confit of Duck leg, Braised Beef and Roasted Poulet.
As is very often the way, E went for the meat lover’s option of Pork Chop and I went for the fish options choosing the Kipper Pâté and Fish Cake. I also decided on a nice glass of red 🙂

So Pâté has never been a favourite of mine. But I love almost everything seafood so was trying to be brave here. My starter was served in a lovely little dish with a few melba toast. While the pot of pâté looked small there was quite a lot in it. It was very tasty and nice and light… which was a good thing as I’d already scoffed a few slices from the bread basket! Once I’d knocked off the fat layer from the top (to prevent oxidisation) I got stuck in to the pâté and finished most of it.

IMG_9391

My fish cake arrived and was the biggest I’ve ever seen! It was served with some spinach, a poached egg and a little dish of the most fabulous tartar sauce. The salmon in the fish cake was super fresh and I ate every last crumb on the plate (nothing new there!)

IMG_9392

E’s pork chop was served with triple cooked chips and sauce bearnaise. The chop was massive and cooked perfectly, nice and juicy. There could have been a few extra chips served with it but given the size of them I guess that might just have been us being greedy 

IMG_9256

Dessert was Toffee Apple Crumble and a separate serving of custard. It was lovely with a nice crunch to the crumble…. So nice I forgot to take a pic! I had a lovely Espresso Martini and then we finished up the meal and headed off before it got crazy busy with the Friday night crowd.

IMG_9578

I really like Marco Pierre’s. They serve consistently good food and with the option of the A la Carte menu to treat yourself or the Value Menu as a cheaper way to sample the food I think it’s a winner. With another restaurant more recently opened in Donnybrook also I’ll need to be paying that a visit!

Marco Pierre White, 51 Dawson St, Dublin 2
Ph: 003531 677 1155 Web: http://marcopierrewhite.ie/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/mpwsteakhouse
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Marco-Pierre-White-Steakhouse-Grill/336008771056?v=wall

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

6 thoughts on “Marco Pierre White’s, Dawson Street

    • Lol! They wouldn’t be too pleased to hear that 🙂 I actually like it inside, more so with a group when you get the nice big roundy tables in the middle… haven’t tried the tuna so must give it a shot next time!

  1. Great stuff! Sounds good! I haven’t tried it yet but M has been thinking about it for his birthday (not til November mind!) l looks great, I think I’d have to go for the steak for my first visit! Vodka martini is one of M’s favs too!!! 🙂

    • I was going to suggest getting a seat outside but as it’s mid November it might be a bit chilly!! They do have heaters though 🙂 I would defo recommend the steak there, that and Shanahan’s are some of the best I’ve had…. it’s not cheap as the vino there can rack up the bill (as ever!) but definitely worth it for a birthday treat.

Leave a Reply

