Vermilion, Terenure

I’ve seen it complained about a few times that a decent Indian meal is hard to come across in Dublin. I do agree somewhat that we haven’t got too MANY Indian restaurants but I’ve had many great meals here so the quality is there and while it’s mainly about the food I do like a nice interior of a restaurant and many of the Indian restaurants over here are a LOT nicer than the “curry houses” I’ve been to in the UK.

Last year I had a lovely meal in Indie Dhaba in the city, it really was step up from any other Indian restaurant that I’ve been to and also Ananda in Dundrum (click to see the reviews). I’ve eaten in a fair few local Indian restaurants too and had some great food – although not such a great atmosphere. But recently I won a competition for a meal in Vermilion in Terenure and felt it ticked the boxes for fantastic Indian food and was also a lovely modern but comfortable restaurant. You may have passed Vermilion before and practically missed it, it’s above the Terenure Inn pub on the Terenure Road.

Myself and E love a good Indian meal. Our local restaurant and take away recently closed so we were dying for a really good feed. We were given some lovely popadoms and dips along with a carrot and coconut mix – had never had that before and it was really good!

IMG_9545

We started with the Meat Samosas and Beef Pepper. Starter portions were very generous – huge in fact, and I wasn’t complaining. The pastry on the samosas was dry and crumbly while the filling of spiced minced lamb and peas was perfectly seasoned and tasty.

IMG_9547

The winner was the beef pepper though, dry beef stir fry with crushed black peppercorns and curry leaves served on a baby naan bread – it had a real kick to it and left us wanting more, so much so that E said he wished it was his main.

IMG_9546

He wasn’t far off as he’d chosen the Beef Kalimiri, which was very similar – this would have made me kick myself for ordering two things so similar but he loved it! Pieces of beef cooked with onion, ginger, garlic and tomatoes, with crushed black peppercorns and coriander and a big huge bowl of rice… the beef was as tender as you can imagine and every bit of it was demolished.

IMG_9550

IMG_9549

We commented on the difference in quality of meat you get in most Chinese restaurants in comparison with Indians, in my experience the latter serve what tastes like proper fresh meat whereas many Chinese restaurants serve sub par meat. In saying that I haven’t tried all that many Chinese restaurants as I’m not crazy on the cuisine in general.

I went for the Chicken Dhansak, with 2 chillies beside it instead of my usual 3 it was spicy enough but wouldn’t blow the head off you like the dishes I usually order! The chicken was juicy and soft and the sauce with yellow lentils, red onions, tomatoes and fresh coriander was really tasty.

IMG_9548

As ever we managed to make room for dessert 🙂 E went for the brownie and I got the Eton Mess.

How good is Eton Mess?! It’s been YEARS since I’ve had it and my God did I enjoy it! The crushed meringue with fresh strawberries and whipped cream, vanilla ice cream and raspberry and strawberry puree was a serious treat.

IMG_9552

The warm chewy brownie with vanilla ice cream went down a treat too. Another 2 empty plates – sure what’s new?!

IMG_9551

Vermillion is a really decent local restaurant – the food was top quality and the atmosphere and surrounds elegant. Indian will never be the cheapest cuisine but they offer a great Early Bird and often promote deals on their social media sites.

Vermilion, 94-96 Terenure Road North,Terenure, Dublin 6W.
Ph: 00353 1 499 1400 Web: http://vermiliondublin.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Vermilion-Indian-Restaurant/210813380412?ref=ts&fref=ts
Twitter: https://twitter.com/VermilionRest

** This meal was provided free of charge, compliments of Vermilion. As with any complimentary events or meals, I gave no undertaking to write a review & I reserved the right to review it honestly, which I have.

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

Leave a Reply

