Peruke & Periwig, Dawson St, Dublin

header

It’s been on my list for months now and recently I FINALLY got around to eating in Peruke & Periwig on Dawson Street. I had been in numerous times for drinks but was yet to try the food, and after seeing a couple of other bloggers praise it, I decided I had to visit!

It’s run by the same crew who run Vintage Cocktail Club & The Liquor Rooms, and again the emphasis is on the cocktail menu. The interior of the dining areas upstairs is similar to the other joints but the downstairs bar is all dark wood and walls adorned with wigs!  Here you can have drinks and order some bar bites.

downstairs

We trooped up the narrow stairs to the third floor of dining space and were shown to our seat. It was early evening so not too dark inside… I’d imagine later in the evening it would be even more atmospheric.

upstairs seating

 

upstairs bar

We started off with a few cocktails to keep us occupied while we looked over the menu. I went for a Bonded Martina and C (from blog Gin & Griddle) went for the Dia Del Muertos (Margarita).

drinks

We both agreed we fancied a tasting a few dishes instead of sticking to main courses so we ordered a few bits from the starters and sides section.

I will start with the standout dish… Wild Mushroom Risotto Balls with Baby Spinach and Poached Quail Eggs & Truffle Oil, €11. Well… these were DEVINE! A crispy exterior gave way to a gorgeously soft interior with plenty of flavour thanks to the parmesan. I could have eaten all of these myself!

risotto balls

The Sticky Pork Short Ribs with Apple Cider and Whisky Glaze, €11, were equally great, the soft meat fell from the bone.

ribs

I am a huge fan of gratin so was excited for the  Smoked Haddock and Dublin Bay Prawn Gratin with Braised Leeks, Gruyère Cheese and Crusty Bread, €12.50.  Through no fault of theirs I have decided I don’t like leeks – but enjoyed the rest of this dish.

potato prawn

And to accompany all these delicious dishes we had some shoestring fries with mayo. Delish!

chips

We had a little break here and enjoyed a few glasses of wine which we’d ordered by the bottle. The dessert options were right up my street with a cheese board, Panna Cotta, Creme Brulee or Chocolate Fondant being the options. We chose the fondant with Pistachio Custard and Fresh Raspberries, €8. It was fabulous with a delicious runny centre – it didn’t last long at all between us!

fondant

After all of this we were both stuffed so sipped over the last of our wine and got the bill. I have to say that the food was absolutely fabulous. I have only one complaint to make of Peruke and I am not alone in this as have heard others say similar. The cocktails, while tasting great, are priced at about €12/€13 and in my opinion are overpriced. The glasses were nowhere near full and we felt pretty hard done by. I certainly couldn’t afford an evening drinking cocktails here which is why we switched onto the wine after our first drink.  Other than that I enjoyed it and would definitely return for wine and bites.

Peruke & Periwig, 31 Dawson Street, Dublin 2.
Ph: 00353 1 672-7190  www.peruke.ie
Twitter: https://twitter.com/PerukePeriwig

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

3 thoughts on “Peruke & Periwig, Dawson St, Dublin

  1. Thank you Kate i enjoyed reading your blogs on different places around Dublin. I know Dublin quite well but I found these really interesting. Only problem not sure where to go next week and celebrating an anniversary. Cheers Helen

  2. Pingback: Angelina’s, Dublin | kateskabin

Leave a Reply

