Taste of Dublin 2014

TOD HEADER

Any of my Twitter followers will have seen me waffling on about TOD for a while now. I absolutely ADORE this day out in Iveagh Gardens and never miss it. It’s a fantastic way to get some tasters of what great Dublin restaurants have on their menu. This year I was lucky enough to win a competition and got 6 tickets to go along on the launch night with 5 others…. HAPPY DAYS! πŸ™‚

It was a gorgeous warm evening and the perfect day for it.

TOD

TOD GRASS

You may also have seen me excitedly tweet this pic – I actually met Michel Roux Jr! I’m a huge fan so when I spotted him I legged it over and grabbed him for a snap. He was really friendly and didn’t seem to mind be launching myself at him!

MICHEL ROUX

I usually go to the Saturday daytime session so was looking forward to seeing what the atmosphere was like at the evening session. We had a table in the SONY Platinum Lounge (fancy, I know!) and got some lovely nibbles from the Butlers Pantry to munch on before we started our rounds of the restaurant’s offerings!

BUTLERS PANTRY FOOD

This year in the build up to Taste I’d seen a lot of stuff on Twitter and Facebook that made me think this year would be bigger and better and it really was. There was so much going on! I loved the new addition of these pods that you could book into, next year I will definitely try that out.

TOD POD

As usual there was the little freebies you could get strolling around from the likes of Cuisine de France and Keoghs crisps.

BREAD

KEOGHS

There were lots of drinks offerings too, with cocktails, prosecco and wines and beers.

CREANS VAN

PROSECCO

PROSECCO DRINKS

I loved these Melon Balls that we got from Pepper Brasserie in Clontarf – the perfect cocktail for a summer’s day!

MELON BALLS

I’d already eyed up the dishes on offer and had some marked as a must try. We started off with Jaipur Indian and tried the Lamb Roganjosh & Chicken Malai Kebab. Both were good but the lamb was the best dish here, so soft.

JAIPUR LAMB

JAIPUR CHICKEN

Next up we tried a few dished from Brioche. I’d heard good reports on this Ranelagh restaurant so was excited to try the food, especially the “Duck Dog” of duck boudin in a brioche bun.

BRIOCH DUCK DOG

I also tried their Pork Head Croquette which was delicious!

BRIOCHE CROQETTE

Dishes are priced at about 6 or 7 euro and I have to say I think portion size this year was pretty big, after our Butler’s Pantry goodies and sharing these dishes I was almost full! I did keep a little room for the chorizo lollipops from The Exchequer as I loved them when I visited for lunch a while back.

CHORIZO POPS

By then all I had room for was another few glasses of Prosecco and a bit of a dance with Smash Hits!

SMASH HITS

I had a fab evening as per usual…. so much so that I’m heading along to the day session on Saturday too! If you do come along I hope you enjoy it as much as I did πŸ™‚

http://www.tasteofdublin.ie/

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

Leave a Reply

