Afternoon Tea at The Morrison Hotel, Dublin

IMG_1718

It’s one of our favourite things to do together, so every once in a while myself and my Mam go into town for a wander around the shops and a bit of Afternoon Tea. Every Christmas Eve we go to The Westbury for their Christmas version – this is my favourite day over the Christmas period made even better by the lots of cakes and Prosecco!

I’ve also tried it in The Dylan, The Conrad and The Heritage Spa Resort. So when I saw a deal pop up for the newly refurbished The Morrison Hotel, along the quays, I snapped it up. For just €35 you got Afternoon Tea for 2, along with a glass of Prosecco each.

A friend of mine had her wedding party in the hotel a few years back and we always liked the dark modern feel to it. I was interested to see what the newly renovated place looked like since it was taken over.

It was a bright Sunday afternoon when we arrived and there were just a few others dining. We were greeted and seated by one of the waiting staff – she served us for the afternoon and was fantastically friendly and helpful. I love nice staff! Once we had sat down I had a chance to get a good look around. The old bar area is now the restaurant section. It’s nice and bright and fresh but does have that “hotel restaurant” look and feel to it that I am not too fond of.

IMG_1706

On the other side is the bar area which was quite nice, again lovely and bright and looks right out along the quays.

IMG_1713

While I wasn’t crazy about the furniture etc in the restaurant area it did have a very chilled out and relaxed feel to it. We were given our prosecco and ordered a glass of wine for the mother (doesn’t like prosecco!!) and awaited our treats!

Everything arrived on some extremely blue china and we were eager to get stuck in.

IMG_1707

We started with the sandwich triangles on the bottom layer. There was a mix of Egg Mayonnaise, Chicken, and Smoked Salmon with Cream Cheese on some lovely brown bread. My favourite was the salmon which worked out well as Mam hates it πŸ™‚ Our waitress kindly said if we wanted any more of anything to give her a shout so we cheekily asked for a few more of the chicken!

IMG_1708

Next we tried the scones. I’ll be honest I don’t think these scones are really up to the standard they could be. Pretty small and flat (call me greedy but I like a big scone!) They did taste good once covered in cream and jam but they weren’t anything to write home about. The chocolate sponges were extremely dry – I wasn’t a fan. The litle macarons were delish though!

IMG_1711

We finished up with our top plate of sugary treats. The brownie chunks were very tasty and the little pastry cylinders topped with raspberries were lovely also. The little jars contained a sort of custard topped with jam and were also nice.

IMG_1710

I would have liked a little printout menu of exactly what was contained in the afternoon tea to be honest – I have no idea what flavour that green macaron was! While I got a good deal buying this voucher on GrabOne, I personally wouldn’t pay full price for this. I don’t feel the quality was really there in comparison to what you get in the likes of The Westbury etc. I think The Morrison would need to step it up slightly to compete with the plethora of hotels in the city offering great afternoon teas these days!

The Morrison Hotel, Ormond Quay, Dublin 1
Ph: 00353 1 887 2400 Web: http://www.morrisonhotel.ie/

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

10 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea at The Morrison Hotel, Dublin

  1. Great review Kate. When it comes to scones, I agree with you – they should be super fresh, still warm (please!) and definitely properly risen as they can make or break afternoon tea.

  2. I love afternoon tea, but I have to say the Shelbourne do an amazing one, they even do a gluten free version which is fab! Highly recommended.

    • I have The Shelbourne, Merrion & Four Seasons on my list to try Grainne – great to hear they offer gluten free too as have just been put on gluten free diet and am struggling!

  3. Pingback: Afternoon Tea at The Conrad Hotel | kateskabin

  4. Pingback: Kate’s Kabin is 2! A round up of the past year…. | kateskabin

Leave a Reply

