Manifestino, Rathgar

IMG_2305

There is likely to be a bit of a trend over the next few months as I’ve vowed to work my way through a few of the “Best Pizzas in Dublin”. Pizza is my FAVE and I’ve seen plenty of restaurants on Twitter touted as the best, so I therefore must try then ALL!! πŸ™‚ So far I very much rate Il Panorama Cafe in Howth – I am definitely due a return visit soon!

Next on my list was to try either Manifesto in Rathmines or Manifestino in Rathgar – famous for offering AMAAAAZING pizzas and being very accommodating to anyone wanting gluten free meals.

I’ve visited twice now, the first time I just wasn’t in pizza mode (What. The. Hell. was wrong with me?! The second time I made up for that by absolutely devouring almost every crumb of my pizza.

The restaurant is a small enough space so it’s always advisable to phone ahead and book.

IMG_1032

They started by giving us some delightfully greasy little garlic bread bites… these are unbelievably addictive!

IMG_1034

While they are very much known for the pizzas they also offer some great pasta dishes. On my first visit I went for the spaghetti with half lobster cooked in cherry tomato sauce. Presentation was great, well cooked pasta that still held a bit of bite and a decent portion of lobster to accompany it – andΒ  most importantly, it tasted great!

IMG_1038

Mam went for the veal escalope, lined with parma ham and sage in a white wine sauce which was served with roasted potatoes. The little roasted wedges were lovely but I’m not a huge veal fan so didn’t venture to taste it!

IMG_1035

We finished this meal with a beautiful Tiramasu – check out the stunning presentation! It tasted divine.

IMG_1037

On my more recent visit I was allllll about the pizza! Myself and E were suitable hungover and wanted major soakage.

I went for the Alvaruccio pizza, which has cherry tomato, cep mushrooms, porchetta and rocket salad… I should really have moved the rocket for the sake of the picture but safe to say there were lots of toppings and the mushrooms were fab. The base wasn’t thin but wasn’t quite as crisp as I’d like it – other than that it was great and again, a great size, call me a pig but I always want a nice big pizza!

IMG_2304

E went for the Bellissima Udine – a completely unique pizza topped with Italian pork fennel sausage and roasted potato… as usual for him, no cheese! This was delish! Who knew potato on pizza with ground sausage would be a winning combo? πŸ™‚

IMG_2303

After eating those full pizzas we were way too full for dessert on this occasion.

I really like this place, a cute local restaurant with great, friendly staff and really good honest food – if you are anywhere near the area pay a visit with an empty tummy! πŸ™‚

Manifestino, 10 Terenure Road, Rathgar, Dublin 6.
Ph: 00353 1492 6890 Web: http://www.manifestino.ie/ Twitter: https://twitter.com/Manifestoresto

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

One thought on “Manifestino, Rathgar

Leave a Reply

