Avenue, Maynooth

IMG_2643

I like to blog a variety of restaurants and eateries here so in comparison to my recent restaurant review of some fine dining food in Saison, today I bring you… Burgers and wings!! And damn good burgers and wings at that πŸ™‚

My group of friends are dotted between Celbridge, Dunboyne, Newcastle and Clondalkin. So often times when we meet just to catch up and not so much go “out out” we’ll try choose somewhere in between the lot. One of our all time faves has go to be Avenue Cafe in Maynooth. We’ve had plenty of fantastic meals here over the years and now that they’ve opened a beautiful little wine bar to the side it’s even more so the perfect place for us to meet!

The other week we’d planned a nice Sunday afternoon stuffing our faces and having a chit chat to catch up on what’s going on in all our lives & Avenue was the chosen place. Having had one or two glasses (ok, a few more!) of wine the night before I was dying for a substantial feed to calm my cravings.

The restaurant was quite full – in fact it always is as it’s such a popular place so booking is definitely advised. We were given a lovely table in a private dining room – very foncy! πŸ™‚

IMG_2638

We were offered the A La Carte menu & the Sunday Lunch menu to eat from. The Sunday lunch offers 2 courses (starter & main or main & dessert) for €18 or 3 courses for €23. A few of us ordered from the Sunday Lunch menu as there was such a great choice but a few ordered from A La Carte as the wings aren’t available on the lunch one and there was NO WAY they were missing out on theses wings!

We mostly ate the same stuff so there’s not too much variety in food I’m afraid! A few started with the deep fried Brie… we are a bunch of cheese lovers and nothing beats some soft gooey brie – I had a taster and it was delicious and creamy.

IMG_2639

I went for the Fresh & Smoked Salmon Fishcake with cucumber ribbons and topped with riata. I should add this was a main course plate and the fishcake was huge and filled with soft fresh fish, it certainly started to fill my hungover tummy!

IMG_2640

For mains a couple of us went all out and got the burgers and chips. I rarely get a burger when I’m out… I just take a few bites of E’s πŸ™‚ There’s a good mix of toppings available and I chose the jalapenos, chilli cheese and sour cream… If I’m going to pig out I’m going to do it right! The burger was cooked medium and well seasoned and served with a large portion of chips.

IMG_2635

Half way through I thought I was starting to struggle but I persevered and polished off the whole burger! Didn’t make it through all of the chipsΒ  though πŸ™‚

IMG_2642

The rest of the group bypassed all the main course options and went straight for the large bowl of wings. This is the main reason we come to Avenue. Being a big chicken wings fan I’ve tried lots of them around Dublin, including the heralded Elephant & Castle and TriBeCa ones and I can guarantee that the wings in Avenue are just as good, if not better.

IMG_2641

This is definitely more of a post for people local to the area but if you do find yourself in the vicinity looking for a bite to eat then most definitely give Avenue a try – I promise you will enjoy!

Avenue, Main St, Maynooth, Co. Kildare
Ph: 00353 1628 5003Β  Web: http://www.avenuecafe.ie/Β Β  Twitter: https://twitter.com/AvenueCaf
FB: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Avenue-Cafe-Maynooth/240330519311241

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

2 thoughts on “Avenue, Maynooth

  1. I love Avenue, consistently good food. I can’t believe I have never had their chicken wing! I am a huge chicken wings fan…..next time I am there that’s the definite choice!

Leave a Reply

