Pumpkin Seed Loaf

IMG_9714

Is there ANYTHING in the world better than freshly baked bread?! I’m a carb queen & if I allowed myself I could eat bread at every meal – or even to mop up the end of my meals! 🙂

Unfortunately I am useless at making bread. Two things I just can’t get a handle on are pastry and bread. But in my experiments I have managed to make one really simple loaf that has turned out pretty well if I d say so myself. Barely anything to it and tastes divine buttered and with some cheese when still warm. 🙂

Ingredients List
325g Plain Flour
100g Wholewheat Flour
100g Pumpkin Seeds
1 Teaspoon Bicarb of soda
375ml full fat milk

1. Preheat your oven to about 220 degrees or 200 for a fan oven and get your baking tray ready with some baking paper.

2. In your mixing bowl, firstly sieve in the plain flour then add the wholewheat and mix together. Add in the bicarb and the pumpkin seeds and stir. Always try to remember to add in any seeds or fruit to a loaf before the milk – much easier to mix them in with the dry ingredients.

3. Make a well in the center of the bowl and add the buttermilk and mix well until it’s all come together.

4. Lightly flour your counter top and take the dough from the bowl and knead – not for long, just a couple of mins is needed.

5. Make a cross on the top with a knife and if you want any extra pumpkin seeds on the top of the loaf pat them on now. Bake for about 50 minutes.

IMG_9713

It should be something like this when you cut into it:

IMG_9607

This type of bread can be pretty hard on the top so I usually wrap it in a damp tea towel for a while to soften it slightly.

There you go – bread for dummies like me! Hope you like it 🙂

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

Leave a Reply

