Tapas at Fade Street Social

IMG_3123

I have wanted to try out the food in Fade Street Social for an absolute AGE! Have no idea why it took me so long but when I saw a deal pop up on the new online food mag TheTaste.ie , I decided this was my time!

I’ve been there quite a few times before just for a few drinks and really like the place. Upstairs is the bar area where I’ve tried many a cocktail ๐Ÿ™‚ Each time I’ve been there I’ve seen Dylan McGrath so he is clearly very hands on.

IMG_6388

IMG_6390

IMG_6385

This then leads out to the rooftop bar area which is fab during the summer.

IMG_6377

IMG_6383

IMG_6384

But this visit was all about the food. The deal was for the Tapas Bar, โ‚ฌ60 for 8 tapas dishes and a bottle of wine – what a steal!

There’s a mixture of standard tables and then some communal style bench seating – I’m not the biggest fan of this so was delighted to get a normal seat. I always like an open kitchen & it was great to see the chefs working away.

IMG_3102

We ordered our wine and got involved in the HUGE menu! There was only one restriction that you could get just 1 item from the Grill section, but with so much choice on the rest of the menu it was no hardship.

We decided to just get lots of dishes and share them all. They came out pretty fast so it was a bit of a struggle to eat fast enough to make space for the dishes onย  the table – but gobbling up food isn’t something I have a problem with thankfully ๐Ÿ™‚
First up was the Salted Popcorn with crispy free-range Chicken cooked in tapioca flour, rolled in sumac with truffle butter. Popcorn and chicken together are something I’ve never tried but the combo really worked and it was one of my favourites.

IMG_3103

Next up was the Prawn tempura on charred crusty bread with pesto, tomato, herbs, lemon purรฉe and olives. I adore prawns and the batter was super thin and light – a fab dish.

IMG_3104

This was my FAVOURITE – Chinese pork belly, slow cooked with Asian spices and crispy peanut brittle. The meat was just perfect and the spices it was paired with brought every flavour out – delicious.

IMG_3105

I had thought this would be my number 1 dish – I love a burger. However it wasn’t all I thought. Bacon and cabbage burger, fried pork belly in balsamic, smoked pudding, crispy cabbage, peppered bacon, lyonnaise and a milk bun. The cabbage was like a dried out leaf and too hard to eat so had to be left aside and the meat was just that bit too fatty for me.

IMG_3106

Next up was Thinly sliced Magret duck breast served pink with pickled kumquats, shallot purรฉe, orange dressing and handmade confit duck spring roll. I only had a small taster of this but enjoyed the bite I had, very nicely cooked duck.

IMG_3107

Last up of the savoury foods was my dish alone – too rare for some people! Charcoal roasted great Irish sirloin with a parmesan, chestnut and mushroom tart. I loved this one, the meat was medium rare how I like it and the Parmesan was divine.

IMG_3108

We saved 2 of our dishes for dessert. I had heard lots of recommendations for the Basil sugar doughnuts with lychee & mango dipping sauce so that was first up. The small, soft sugary doughnuts were perfect for dipping ๐Ÿ™‚ The second dessert (to the right of the doughnuts) was the total winner for me though, Chocolate mousse with hazelnut ice cream and raspberry glass – SOOOOOO GOOD!

IMG_3109

I loved my experience at Fade Street Tapas Bar and having heard many great reports on the other restaurant there I am sure to be back!

Fade Street Social Tapas & GastroBar Restaurant, 4 Fade Street, Dublin 2
Ph: 00353 1 604 0066ย  Web: http://www.fadestreetsocial.com/tapas-bar-dublin/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/FadeStSocialย ย ย ย ย  FB: https://www.facebook.com/FadeStreetSocial?fref=ts

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

Leave a Reply

