The Butcher Grill, Ranelagh

wall

Hello all – and Happy New Year! On this dull and dreary Monday afternoon I am missing the afternoon nap I got used to throughout the Christmas break and trying to muster up the motivation for yoga after work – Snooooooze! A few early nights needed I think. My only blogging resolutions are to get back into the baking side of things – I was moving house etc before Christmas and all my baking gear was packed up, but now I’m nice and settled I will get back into my cake baking groove! πŸ™‚

For now though, it’s a restaurant review – and quelle surprise, it’s in Ranelagh!

You may (or may not!) have read my post a few months ago on Brunch at The Butcher Grill in Ranelagh, and yes it is actually The Butcher Grill and not Butcher’s as I had always thought! I loved my Brunch visit and knew I wanted to return to try out the dinner menu but with so many new spots opening over the past while, it’s taken me a while to get back there!

This place gets booked solid over the weekend so I booked early and looked forward to some juicy steak! The only seats on offer were at the bar, but I really like casual bar seating so was happy enough with this. When eating at any of this group of restaurants it’s sacrilege to miss out on the margarita so I did what was my duty and started the evening off with a fantastic cocktail πŸ™‚

IMG_3385

To start we had the Seared tuna tostados with avocado salsa, chipotle mayo and crispy onions. I’m not exaggerating when I say this is the nicest starter dish I’ve had for a loooong time! The balance of the avocado and the zing of lime was just right.

IMG_3383

I’m not a huge fan of steak tartar but this was seasoned well and served with caper jam, quail egg & toast and was polished off!

IMG_3386

There was only ever one thing I was going to choose for mains and it was the CΓ΄te de Boeuf for two with onion rings and smoky beans – at €58 it’s not cheap but it’s a huge dish and plenty for two people. It was cooked medium and really hit the meat craving spot! Those smokey beans deserve a special shout out too though – so tasty!

IMG_3384

You would maybe think after all that there would be no room for dessert but we managed to share one! The Sticky Toffee Pudding was delicious, soft and warm with gorgeous ice cream melting into it….. Mmmmmmm! πŸ™‚

IMG_3387

John Farrell’s group of restaurants have casual dining and great food absolutely spot on with the likes of The Butcher Grill, 777 & Dillinger’s – now I just need to get to Super Miss Sue!

IMG_3381

The Butcher Grill, 92 Ranelagh, Dublin 6
Ph: 00353 1 498 18 05
Web: http://thebutchergrill.ie/index.html Twitter: https://twitter.com/butcher_grill
FB: https://www.facebook.com/thebutchergrill.ranelagh?fref=ts

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

2 thoughts on “The Butcher Grill, Ranelagh

Leave a Reply

