Bagots Hutton, South William Street

I’m still researching away for my “Best Pizza in Dublin” post…. it’s a tough old job but someone’s gotta do it! πŸ™‚

Latest on the hit list was Bagots Hutton wine bar on South William Street. I’ve been here plenty of times but never had their famous pizzas. I’d already tried the cheese and meat boards and both of my Tapas Trail’s finished up here so I’d tried the desserts too… not to mention quite a few drinks in their secret cave – I love it there!

This time though it was all about the pizza for me. Myself and a few friends dropped in for a bite to eat on New Year’s Eve before the big concert at College Green. We were nice and early and had a table booked – which was lucky as it filled up pretty soon! As ever, we started off with some Prosecco πŸ™‚

IMG_3952

The menu is my idea of heaven in here. A selection of bruschetta & soups to start, a Sharing Boards section with a mix of cheese, charcuterie, salmon and bresaola boards and then the main menu with a choice of pizza and pasta & salad options…. there is not one thing on the whole menu that I wouldn’t eat! (Ok, so we know that’s not hard to imagine as I eat EVERYTHING!)

We just had a few olives to much on while we waited – wanting to keep all the space for the mains! I chose the Prosciutto e Funghi with Mozzarella, tomato, basil, ham, mushroom and I wasn’t disappointed! A thin base is my favourite and the toppings were plentiful and tasty.

IMG_3985

Here’s a snap of the Norcina with Sausage, onion, mushroom, mozzarella & tomato…. I didn’t have a taste but was assured it was great! Both pizzas were €12.95 which for the quality and size was pretty reasonable.

IMG_3993

I am an absolute cheese freak as is one of my friends in the group so seeing the option of “very addictive cheesy gnocchi”, she chose the Cacio E Pepe , gnocchi with pear and black pepper. We didn’t get much of a hint of the pear, but there were no complaints – the cheese was amazing!

IMG_3994

After dinner we decided to have a look in the cave before it filled up…. “a look” in the cave turning into a bottle of Prosecco and a few rounds of whiskey sours then us stumbling off into the night to the NYE concert. I looooove this cave part and always have a drink down there when I’m in Bagots Hutton – if you haven’t seen it yet make sure to pop your head behind the curtain next time.

IMG_3996

bagots h cave

So my verdict? Damn good pizza! BH is one of my favourite places in town – the staff are always super friendly and happy to help and the food and wine are great…. it will certainly make it into my top 10! πŸ™‚

Bagots Hutton Wine Emporium, 28 South William Street, Dublin
Ph: 00353 1 534 3956 Web: http://www.bagotshutton.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/BagotsHutton FB: https://www.facebook.com/bagotshutton1829?fref=ts

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

2 thoughts on “Bagots Hutton, South William Street

Leave a Reply

