Lunch with a view – City Social, London

IMG_4185

Last week I celebrated my birthday with a short trip to London – what better way to mark the occasion than go to one of my favourite cities with my best pal! While it was brief, we squashed in as much as possible and had a fab time…. I adore living in Dublin and think it’s a fantastic city but there’s something about London and New York that just make me feel so excited, I’ve been to both many times and will NEVER tire of them.

Of course, we went to a few lovely spots for food and drinks while we were there. I was super excited for lunch at City Social, the highly praised Michelen starred venture from Jason Atherton. We chose to eat in the bar area as we were just looking for a light casual lunch before our plane journey home. It’s based in the business district on the 24th floor of Tower 42, taking over the spot that was previously Gary Rhodes’ restaurant.  The views are fantastic and we had one of the best seats in the house looking out towards The Shard on one side and the Gherkin to the other.

IMG_4186

IMG_4173

The interior is as slick as you would expect with booths, tables and bar seating.

IMG_4194

To say we felt a little delicate would  be an understatement – we had one too many whiskey sours the  night before! So while L wanted some carbs to cure her hangover, I was starving and fancied a few picky bits and chose the Smoked Pork Empanadas with harissa and smoked onion compote. These were delicious little bites of soft smokey pork. Alongside them I got the duck fat chips…. in a word – UNREAL! The nicest chunky chips I’ve had the pleasure of eating in life!

IMG_4192

Trying to balance out the bold by going for something semi healthy, I also got the Crab Salad with avocado on toast at £12.50. The crab meat was beautifully soft and fresh and portion size was generous.

IMG_4193

Wanting some comforting carbs, L chose the Basil tagliatelle with tender stem broccoli and pine nuts, served with a parmesan veloute. While a veggie pasta dish wouldn’t usually excite me, this was absolutely divine. Pasta with just the right amount of bite and a velvet smooth veloute.

IMG_4191

We finished up our lunch with a cappuccino and tea and enjoyed the sunlit view and relaxed atmosphere.

IMG_4195

While City Social isn’t a cheap lunch, the food was impeccable and service was faultless. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it and I know that I’d return in a heartbeat!

IMG_4196

IMG_4125

IMG_4188

City Social, Tower 42, 25 Old Broad Street, London EC2N 1HQ
Ph: +44 (0)20 7877 7703
Web: http://citysociallondon.com/  Twitter: https://twitter.com/CitySocial_T42
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CitySocialT42

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

2 thoughts on “Lunch with a view – City Social, London

Leave a Reply

