Lunch at Kitchen 62, Dun Laoghaire

IMG_4256

I’ll admit to not being all that knowledgeable about the best places to eat in Dun Laoghaire… Howth, yes – I have spent many an afternoon or evening there and discovered some fab places – but Dun Laoghaire is a place that I’ve visited so many times but usually it’s for a walk on the pier and an ice cream from Teddy’s!

Recently though, I saw quite a lot of tasty food pics from a new spot out there, Kitchen 62. Opened by photographer (to the celebs no less!) Lili Forberg, I had heard good things. So after a nice brisk walk and almost getting blown off the pier, we decided to check it out. Situated on George’s Street, it’s just past the People’s Park where the Sunday markets were in full swing. The interior is lovely and modern with grey and pale teal walls and a fab bar… unfortunately I didn’t try out the Mimosas on this occasion but I’m told by a reiable source (Carol @ Gin & Griddle!!) that they are pretty decent πŸ™‚

IMG_4254

IMG_4255

IMG_4253

I especially loved the loos and this funky mirror…. you know, it’s the little things that I appreciate πŸ™‚

IMG_4252

Anyway – onto the food! We were there at lunch time on a Sunday and had worked up a bit of a hunger! There was the Brunch menu offering the usual suspects, full brekkie, pancakes, and a frittata which I contemplated, but in the end we both ordered from the main Lunch menu and went for the Pulled Pork and Slaw in a brioche bun and the Piri Piri Chicken burger on a brioche bun. Both were priced at €12.50 and also came with fries. As you can see from the pics below, portion size was well worth the money! The chunky slaw was absolutely fab…. although the pesto decorated plates were a bit unnecessary πŸ™‚

IMG_4236

IMG_4241

IMG_4257

The dessert menu read like everything I ever want in life, brownies, cheesecake or Eton mess! But I was completely stuffed so just went for a cappuccino instead!

IMG_4240

I was pretty pleased with our lunch in Kitchen 62. I had expected it to be a bit busier at that time on a Sunday afternoon but I think that once word gets out it will be pretty packed.

Here are some pics of our lovely walk on the pier just in case you are a real water lover like me!

IMG_4237

IMG_5121

IMG_4238

Kitchen 62, 62 George’s Street, Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin
Ph: 00353 1559 1834
Twitter: https://twitter.com/kitchen_62

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

2 thoughts on “Lunch at Kitchen 62, Dun Laoghaire

Leave a Reply

