The Meeting House, Temple Bar

The Meeting House wall art

I do like to think that while it may take me a while to get to all of the new restaurants around town, I at least know that they’ve opened… I was proved wrong this month though when I realised there was a shiny new restaurant in Temple Bar that opened before Christmas – and I didn’t even hear about it! The Meeting House has been popping up a bit the past couple of weeks in my Facebook and Twitter feed, and by all accounts the feedback seems very positive – so off I went of a Thursday evening (out on a school night!) with my friend in tow to see what it was all about.

Meeting House Square is a really nice part of Temple Bar, with the giant umbrellas to keep the rain off it’s often used for cultural events in the city. The Meeting House is right beside these umbrellas on Sycamore Street. Some of you may be familiar with Eden and Nede restaurants which were housed here, but the folks at The Meeting House have gone for a completely different feel for their Burmese restaurant.

It’s a large spacious restaurant with a couple of separate areas, the main bar and restaurant downstairs, another bar area upstairs and then a small mezzanine which would be ideal for a private group. The walls are decorated with some amazing art and there’s a pretty cool vibe going on!

The Meeting House interior

The Meeting House bar2

The Meeting House restaurant

The Meeting House wall art

The Meeting House Bar

I’ve got to start by saying how friendly & helpful (and attractive!) the staff were. We were seated and our waiter explained the menu to us … it’s done tapas style, but slightly bigger portions. So LOTS of choice and recommended about 2 dishes per person plus sides. I’ll be honest, I hadn’t a clue what Burmese cuisine was – but was happy out to see the choices on this menu! I also noted that they have a few veggie options and they told us they can make some of them vegan and gluten free upon request.

the meetinghouse dubin menu

While we’d usually share everything with a menu of this style, I’m on a no meat buzz at the moment and S wanted some red meat so we decided on 2 dishes each and to share the 2 sides. I’m a tuna fiend, any time it’s available I’ll get it so my only trouble was deciding on the sashimi on it’s own or the sashimi tacos! In the end I went for the tacos and the Prawn Coconut curry and S went for the Chicken Coconut Curry and the Pepper Crusted Steak and we got sides of Asian Sweet Potatoes and Steamed Brown Rice – just for healthiness sake like!

We didn’t have one single complaint on the food – the curry dishes were deliciously creamy and my prawns were soft and fresh, the tuna tacos were out of this world and S was equally as pleased with the meat options.

The Meeting House tuna tacos

The Meeting House steak

The Meeting House cury

The Meeting House sides

We took a little break here to sip over our Malbec and decide on our dessert… as ever we wanted a taste of everything so decided on the selection of 4 mini desserts, a little chunk of Orange & Almond cake, a small coconut panna cotta, a zingy sorbet and a luscious chocolate truffle… all delish.

The Meeting House dessert

We finished up with a couple of cocktails and were pretty delighted to be waved off with a little goody bag of truffles!

The Meeting House cocktails

The Meeting House chocs

I was super impressed with The Meeting House – especially considering it’s still early days for them. With the venue also being a late bar it’s one of those spots you don’t need to move from for the evening – I’m already planning my return visit!

The Meeting House bill

The Meeting House, Sycamore Street, Meeting House Square, Temple Bar, Dublin 2
Ph: 00353 1 6703330
(Open Tues – Sat at present)
Web: http://www.themeetinghousedublin.com/ Twitter: https://twitter.com/meetinghousedub
FB: https://www.facebook.com/MeetingHouseDublin?fref=ts

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

3 thoughts on “The Meeting House, Temple Bar

  1. Pingback: Kate’s Kabin is 2! A round up of the past year…. | kateskabin

Leave a Reply

