Almond & Toblerone Brownies

IMG_4920

I don’t know how on earth this happened, but last week I was at home and discovered a large Toblerone left over from Christmas at the back of one of my kitchen presses… I mean I NEVER have chocolate knocking around that long! It obviously would have been devoured had I known it was actually there πŸ™‚ So I decided I’d try to use it to bake something.

My Toblerone Cheesecake always goes down well but I had no cream cheese – so I decided on Brownies – after all, who doesn’t love a good brownie!? I made them with gluten free flour so my housemate could share the treats then bought a few into work to be scoffed – they are yum! πŸ™‚

Ingredients List

45g almond flakes
200g butter
200g Toblerone (either normal or dark chocolate ones will do)
160g brown sugar
140g self raising flour
30g cocoa powder
3 eggs
Icing sugar to dust

Method
1. Preheat the oven to 170 degrees or about 150 for a fan oven. Line your brownie tin.

2. Put the butter and 150g of the Toblerone into a heat proof bowl and melt, either in the microwave of over boiling water over a pan. Leave the bowl aside to cool and chop up the remaining bots of Toblerone into small chunks.

3. Beat the eggs and sugar together in your mixing bowl until quite foamy. Add in the chocolate and butter and mix well.

This mixture is not appealing AT ALL at this stage but I promise it tastes good in the end! IMG_4918

4. Sieve in the flour and cocoa powder and fold together.

5. Throw in the Toblerone chunks and the almonds and mix it all together well. IMG_4919

6. Pour into the brownie tray and bake for approx 30 minutes. Leave to cool properly for at least an hour. Lift out and cut into squares to serve. IMG_4901

Sieve some icing sugar over the top to decorate.

Ta Dah! Now enjoy these chunks of deliciousness! πŸ™‚ IMG_4920

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

Leave a Reply

