Dada Moroccan Restaurant, South William Street

So you may remember that I went on a yoga retreat to Morocco at the start of the year. I met some fab people on the trip and we promised a meet up a couple of months later to catch up on life and talk all things yoga! Where better to go than a Moroccan restaurant in town then!?

I’m only aware of 2 Moroccan places in Dublin and it so happens they are right by each other – it was decided to try out Dada on South William Street… I must have eaten in almost every restaurant on this street by now! I’d heard good things from my Mam who visited a couple of years back so was excited to try it! It’s BYOB with a small corkage charge so you can keep it a relatively cheap night.

The restaurant is warm and cosy and has splashes of colour and Moroccan themed touches dotted throughout. It was Friday night and the place was just about full up.

IMG_4921

IMG_4922

As there was a largel group of us, we had the option of ordering from the Group Value or the A La Carte… it also happened to be Dine in Dublin week and they offered a starter, main and dessert for €25. A few of us chose that and a few just went for mains… there was too much food to go through every dish but I’ll breeze through some of them now !

Starters:

IMG_4923
Filo pastry with feta cheese and thyme

I had these filo pastry cigars which were pretty tasty!

IMG_4924
Spinach with pickled lemon, green olives & spices

For mains most of us stuck to the most traditional Moroccan tagines. A tagine is a North African stew type of dish that I tried in Morocco. They were all served in the traditional clay tagine pots with the conical lid taken from the top when served at the table.

IMG_4926

Pumpkin & carrot tagine with lentils

IMG_4927

Seven vegetable tagine with lemon

IMG_4925

Lamb tagine with carrots, peas and spices

IMG_4929

Green veg tagine with fava bean and garlic marinade

I had the Seven Veg tagine which was nice, but nothing too special if I’m honest! I finished up with a satisfactory brownie… which I polished off but have to say I’ve had better elsewhere.

IMG_4930

Last up was some Moroccan tea poured from some distance by our waiter!

IMG_4931

While I enjoyed my meal here I wouldn’t be visiting paying full price from the A La Carte menu, I just don’t think it would have been great value for money… it’s one for an Early Bird or a voucher as they are often on the deal pages, I liked it, just didn’t LOVE it!

Dada, 45 South William Street, Dublin 2
Ph: 00353 1 01 617 07 77
Web: http://www.dadarestaurant.ie/

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

One thought on “Dada Moroccan Restaurant, South William Street

Leave a Reply

