Afternoon Tea at The Conrad Hotel Dublin

Conrad Hotel Dublin Afternoon Tea

I’m a very big lover of Afternoon Tea… a whole pile of sambos, scones and cakes, usually accompanied by a glass of bubbles in the middle of the afternoon – what’s not to love?! I’ve had a few hits, mainly being the fab Christmas Afternoon Tea at The Westbury that myself and my Mam go for every Christmas Eve…. but I’ve also had a couple of misses on the Afternoon Tea front! My experience in The Morrison left me less than amazed and I felt similar after the Chocolate Afternoon Tea in The Dylan last year.

My most recent experience came courtesy of a deal from Rewarding Times – if you aren’t signed up for these deal go and do so now! They tend to be just a step up from some of the other deal sites and offer that little bit more of a luxury deal. This particular deal was Afternoon Tea for 2 priced at just €35, which I think is half price! No bubbles included, but I could live with that πŸ™‚

It was over the Easter weekend when I visited, a bright and sunny Monday afternoon. Town was pretty quiet and the hotel itself also peaceful – which I was glad of to be honest, I just wasn’t in the mood of a rushed and hectic afternoon! We had a quick drink in the hotel bar and played ping pong for a bit (… the less said the better, I was rubbish!) then took our seats for our treats.

First up was the tea part – and here’s the thing… I don’t even like tea! So as usual I went for a coffee… a smooth and creamy cappuccino.

Conrad Hotel Dublin Afternoon Tea 5

They did have a huge selection of teas on offer though, presented in this fab case.

Conrad Hotel Dublin Afternoon Tea 6

Once our food came out I have to say I was super impressed with the presentation… the top layer was fab! The middle layer held the savoury bites, scones and banana bread on the bottom then the mini cakles and treats on the top.

Conrad Hotel Dublin Afternoon Tea

We started off with the savoury section, soft rolls with egg mayonnaise, brown bread with salmon and crusty white bread with both a ham and a cucumber option.

Conrad Hotel Dublin Afternoon Tea 2

Conrad Hotel Dublin Afternoon Tea 4

Next up were the warm crumbly scones topped with some cream and jam then some delicious sweet banana bread.

Conrad Hotel Dublin Afternoon Tea 3

After a little break we made a start on the top layer – the piΓ¨ce de rΓ©sistance!

Conrad Hotel Dublin Afternoon Tea 1

In a word all the elements here were amazing… from the fruity perfectly formed macarons to the absolutely gorgeously presented lemon meringue ice cream cones – my personal fave!

When an Afternoon Tea comes out I always think I’ll never make it home and will need a doggy bag… but almost every time I’ve managed to work my way through it!

Unfortunately the deal on Rewarding Times sold out (as they always do!) but if you are on the lookout for a quieter Afternoon Tea just moments from the centre of town then most certainly give The Conrad a try!

The Conrad Hotel, Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin 2
Ph: +353 1 602 8900
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ConradDublin
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Conraddublincity?fref=ts
Web: http://conradhotels3.hilton.com/en/hotels/ireland/conrad-dublin-DUBHCCI/index.html?WT.mc_id=zELWAPN0EU1WW2PSH3Search4DGGeneric&WT.srch=1&utm_source=Bing&utm_medium=ppc&utm_campaign=paidsearch

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

3 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea at The Conrad Hotel Dublin

  1. Pingback: Kate’s Kabin is 2! A round up of the past year…. | kateskabin

Leave a Reply

