Blueberry & Lemon Loaf Cake

IMG_5276

Yet again I’ve been super busy and just haven’t fit much baking in around everything else. And I miss it! Last year I used to bake a few times a week, now I’m lucky to get the time to throw a cake together once a month… you’d think my waistline would thank me for it but I’ve been eating out that much if anything I’ve put on a few pounds. Boo Hoo!! πŸ™‚

Anyway – this month I did manage to fit in a nice fresh and light recipe for a Blueberry and Lemon cake… Summer is the perfect time for moving away from the heavy chocolatey recipes I usually do and trying something a bit lighter! I did this in a loaf tin but you can use whatever you like, double it up and make a sandwich cake if you fancy.

Ingredients List
150g butter, softened
175g caster sugar
2 eggs
50g Greek yoghurt
Zest of 1 lemon
1 tsp vanilla extract
180g self raising flour
125g blueberries

1. Preheat your oven to 170C or about 150 for a fan oven. Grease and line your cake tins.

2. Beat your butter and sugar together then add your lemon zest, yoghurt and vanilla extract together in your mixing bowl until combined.

3. Fold in the flour and mix then add the blueberries and stir into the mixture well.

4. Pour your mix into the tin and bake for about an hour (mine took longer!) or until a skewer comes out clean. If the top starts to brown a bit too much before the cake is done then cover with tin foil for the remainder.

IMG_5359

IMG_5273

Before serving, allow the cake to cool completely then sieve some icing sugar over the top and cut into slices.

IMG_5275

Enjoy! πŸ™‚

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

Leave a Reply

