Kate’s Kabin is 2! A round up of the past year….

579139_10202379373945024_173339694_n

So technically this post should have been done 2 weeks ago but I have been super busy and didn’t get around to it – sorryyyyyyyyyyyy! πŸ™‚

My very first blog post was at the end of April in 2013 and I haven’t looked back since. Up until a couple of months ago, I usually had enough content for 2 posts a week, between eating out a lot, baking so much and the odd trip to a fancy hotel, I never struggled to have something to blog! More recently though I haven’t the money for eating out every week and haven’t the time for baking so posts aren’t so frequent – I do always manage 1 a week though! With almost 75k views the past year I’m no LovinDublin (they get that in a couple of days I’d presume!), but it does make me happy to think there have been that many visits to my blog page in a year and almost 45k visitors – which means some people actually stick around and don’t just read the one post – always good news!

Looking back on the last year, I have ticked lots of boxes from my restaurant list around Dublin and intend to do the same over the next 12 months – it’s a great time to be eating out in Dublin with a constant stream of new places popping up for us all. For now though – have a look over my faves and the most popular posts of the past year….

One of my best meals was in the beautiful Marcel’s in Ballsbridge…. I loved the whole setting of this place on a leafy street close to The Dylan Hotel – and the food was fab too.

inside1

tuna

Ranelagh is a favourite spot of mine and a more casual Brunch at The Butcher Grill really impressed, and I actually won a food photography competition for my pic of the scotch egg! The food was delicious and I totally recommend a visit for their brunch.

egg open

burger

A friend of mine who knows me so well gave me a gift of a voucher for The Pig’s Ear on Nassau Street which I put to good use for their Early Bird – I loved this place, amazing presentation on the food, lovely staff, views over the grounds of Trinity College and just a nice relaxed atmosphere all round.

IMG_2622

IMG_2621

IMG_2645

For an AGE I’ve wanted to try Coppinger Row and now that I have, I can’t wait to visit again. Another Sunday Brunch visit which has left me excited to try their evening menu.

Coppinger Row tuna nicoise

coppinger row black pudding salad

Three newer additions to the city that I enjoyed were The Meeting House, Taco Taco & Green Man Wines.

The Meeting House, in Temple Bar, is as new and funky as you’ll get around town. Fantastic food at affordable prices and it churns out the tunes as it’s a late bar all weekend (I was home in bed by that time though!) πŸ™‚

The Meeting House wall art

The Meeting House steak

Green Man Wines in Terenure couldn’t be more different! A sophisticated wine shop with a peaceful eating area to the back, myself and my Mam LOVED their cheese board.

IMG_5361

IMG_5295

Last up in the restaurants section is Taco Taco – if you haven’t heard of this place or tied it yet – get there ASAP! Tacos like you’ve never tasted before πŸ™‚

taco taco dublin halloumi tacos

I also had a couple of Afternoon Tea’s along the way… A not so amazing one in The Morrison Hotel

IMG_1710

and a more fabulous one in The Conrad Hotel just a few weeks ago!

Conrad Hotel Dublin Afternoon Tea 1

Although I don’t bake as much as I used to (or would like!) I’ve had some very popular posts over the past year when I’ve managed to get a recipe up. Without doubt, the number one was my Homemade Bounty Bars – they were a tad messy to make but absolutely worth it !

photo 1

Another simple but addictive one was my Peanut Butter Cups – amazing! (if I do say so myself)

IMG_5261

Cheesecakes are always popular on the blog as they are so bloody easy to make – this Strawberry & White Chocolate one has been getting lots of hits more recently.

IMG_9711

And as for this Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter one – it’s certainly a winner with my friends and is a “go to” when I’ve to bring dessert!

IMG_1705

And love them or loath them, there are always search terms for cupcakes! Some people may be “so over” them but it seems they are still in demand… the most popular ones over the past year were these KitKat cupcakes and delicious Banoffi Cupcakes!

IMG_2514

IMG_1493

Along with all the eating, I had a couple of lovely hotel stays too – both at home and away! I treated a friend of mine to a pre wedding stay in The Marker Hotel – the spa was to die for and it would have been rude not to try out the rooftop bar!

whiskey sour

pool

One of my most viewed blog posts was the latest hip and happening hotel in Dublin, The Dean. It cost a pretty penny and I got zero sleep with the noise but it was pretty fantastic!

IMG_3662

IMG_3666

IMG_3678

I took a trip to Kilkenny earlier in the year and was slightly disappointed with my stay in Mount Juliet… while the grounds were fabulous, our room wasn’t in the nice area of the hotel and were I to stay again I’d make sure to be in the main house!

IMG_2024

And lastly I fit in two very lovely and very different breaks away – a jam packed few days in NYC, my favourite place in the world!

IMG_2823

IMG_2914

IMG_2901

And lastly – a few amazing days of yoga and meditation on my yoga retreat to Morocco – am counting down the days till I head off here again!

IMG_4399

IMG_4432

IMG_4555

IMG_4588

So there you have it – my best bits of the last year! Doing this post has made me realise just how much fabulous food there is in Dublin and how much I love experiencing it. I get the odd e mail from followers asking me for a recommendation for a special meal or place to go on a particular occasion and it makes me super happy to know that people read my blog and trust my recommendations – so I hope you all enjoy what I share with you over the next 12 months and look forward to plenty more where this came from!

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

3 thoughts on “Kate’s Kabin is 2! A round up of the past year….

  1. You’ve amassed an amazing following in two years Kate and it’s no surprise. Your blog is always up to date with great, honest foodie recommendations, and those baking photos…I am drooling!! Happy second blog birthday! X

Leave a Reply

