The Hot Stove, Dublin

You know those lists we all have… places we want to go to, things we want to do? Well I’ve a never ending one of restaurants I want to visit! High up on that list was The Hot Stove. Chef Joy Beattie and the food here is so well spoken of. As soon as I saw a lunch deal pop up a while back, I snapped it up! A 2 course lunch for two at €30.. not bad at all.

Located on Parnell Square West on Dublin’s Northside, it may be a basement restaurant but there is plenty of light flowing through and the decor is fresh and clean. We were seated at a window seat with a nice view of the whole dining area. Being a Friday lunchtime, it unsurprisingly filled up pretty quickly.

Hot Stove Dublin 1

Hot Stove Dublin 7

A pretty nice day outside, it seemed a shame to skip a chilled glass of wine, but it was a rare occasion where I was driving so stuck to a soft drink and perused the menu. A choice of 3 starters offered Smoked Trout Rillette, Wild Boar Black Pudding with Poached Egg or Wild Garlic Risotto. The Black Pudding won out for my dining partner and I ordered from the Vegetarian menu and went for the carby option of Colcannon with poached egg.

The Wild Boar Black Pudding & Poached Egg went down a treat and portion size was generous.

Hot Stove Dublin 2

As was the size of my Colcannon cake with poached egg and parmesan foam…presentation was great and the egg was perfectly cooked.

Hot Stove Dublin 3

Hot Stove Dublin 4

Again 3 choices for mains, Pan Seared Ray Wing, Red Wine Braised Beef Cheek or Bacon & Cabbage with Colcannon Cake. Unsurprisingly, the Beef Cheek was chosen and again, I ordered from the Vegetarian menu (love that they have a whole menu for veggies!) and went for the Wild Garlic Risotto…

Hot Stove Dublin 6

 

Hot Stove Dublin 5

Both dishes were divine… I was sure while eating my creamy risotto that I would have garlic coming from my pores for days but it was too nice to leave a single grain on the plate!

I was super tempted to get dessert but I wouldn’t usually eat this amount at lunch so couldn’t fit any more food in and instead had a cappuccino while sitting back and enjoying the atmosphere in the restaurant.

I was really impressed with The Hot Stove and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it… the food, service and restaurant interior were all spot on. Even if you usually find yourself on the South side of the city like me, it’s most definitely worth the trip over the Liffey!

The Hot Stove, 38 Parnell Square West, Dublin 1 Ph: 00353 1 874 7778 Website: http://thehotstove.ie/ FB: https://www.facebook.com/HotStoveRestaurant Twitter: https://twitter.com/TheHotStove1

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

Leave a Reply

