Afternoon Tea at The Heritage, Killenard

Heritage Afternoon Tea 1

It’s been a little while since I’ve treated myself to an Afternoon Tea so when myself and two blogger friends were arranging a meet up, I was pretty happy with the choice of Afternoon Tea in The Heritage Resort in Killenard, Portlaoise. I used to live down that neck of the woods so had visited and stayed at The Heritage a few times…. I’d actually had Afternoon Tea there about 5 years ago in my pre blogging days so was looking forward to seeing how it fared now that I’ve tried quite a few since!

Afternoon Tea is served in the Lobby Lounge. The hotel in general is beautiful, but this section is just that bit posher than the bar area and it was the perfect place for a relaxing chat. Priced at €25 (for the no champers option) it is really reasonably priced – I guess that’s what you get when you leave Dublin!

Heritage Afternoon Tea 2

The menu is very handily laid out with coding on various allergies or preferences should you need it. We had called ahead and let them know we needed some veggie options and they were very accommodating.

Heritage Afternoon Tea menu 2

First up was the selection of sandwiches. There was a mix of smoked salmon, egg mayo, ham hock pate and Irish rarebit with white cheddar. While everything tasted good, my veggie options were just ok ( 3 images down) – I felt that with prior notice of needing some vegetarian options maybe there could have been some hummous or avocado or something, one of the offerings of just red onion marmalade didn’t appeal too much at all.

Heritage Afternoon Tea 6

Heritage Afternoon Tea 7

Heritage Afternoon Tea 3

Next up came the sweet treats! I, of course, made a pig of myself here – what’s new!? There was a rum and banana madeira cake, a lemon tartelette, a macaron, a praline choux and lastly the double chocolate cheesecake served in the jar. The cheesecake was a chocolate lover’s dream, a tad too heavy for some, but to die for if you love heavy and sweet chocolatey treats like me πŸ™‚ The lemon tart was zingy and the pastry was perfect, and the macaron was also the perfect texture. The only one I couldn’t quite manage was the praline choux which was SUPER sweet even for me.

Heritage Afternoon Tea 4

And lastly, the home made scones which were delicious – and small, which suited me after over indulging already! Paired with some fresh cream and jam they were perfection πŸ™‚

Heritage Afternoon Tea 5

So although I wasn’t AMAZED by my options on the sandwiches, I still really enjoyed the Afternoon Tea experience here. The sweet section was really good and the scones great too. Given the price point, it’s definitely worth a visit if you are anywhere in the Kildare / Laois area!

The Heritage Hotel, Killenard, Co. Laois
Ph: 00353 57 864 5500
Web: http://www.theheritage.com/
FB: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Heritage-Resort/1126138567411970?fref=ts

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

3 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea at The Heritage, Killenard

Leave a Reply

