Bay, Clontarf

Whenever I think of Clontarf I usually think of childhood memories… family days at Bull Island or the Rose Garden in St Anne’s park. Nowadays though it’s more about the few restaurants in the area I want to try out … Papillon has had my mouth watering more than once on Instagram and I’ve wanted to try out Bay for a long time!

Situated on the main Clontarf Road, Bay has a longstanding reputation for really great food. I’d been before for coffee and scones and really liked the place so was looking forward to trying out the full evening menu.

It was a dismal Autumn day and this paired with the road works outside didn’t offer the best view from our table in the terrace area, however the little touches made it cosy and I did enjoy sitting here instead of inside.

IMG_8358

IMG_8353

The menu is pretty extensive and certainly offers something to please everyone. I was torn between the Burrata and the Wild Mushroom Bruschetta and had I still been a meat eater the chicken wings would have been a definite! We ended up going for the Burrata with pesto and a rocket salad (€8) and the Scallop Satay with Tiger Prawns (€9). Burrata is so rarely on a menu and I have no idea why – it was absolutely delicious, super creamy … and yes, I did eat every bit of that! πŸ™‚

IMG_8339

IMG_8354

For mains we went for polar opposites… the Vegetable Bang Bang (€14) – oriental veg in a coconut and lemongrass sauce – and the 8oz Fillet steak with chips and brandy black pepper sauce. The curry was tasty and filling with the chunky veg and creamy sauce and I was told the steak was perfect… if maybe a tad smaller than what we are used to being served… I’m not sure if it was confused with the 6oz steak they offer but at €26 I thought it was maybe a couple of euro overpriced.

IMG_8356

IMG_8355

Deciding to go the whole hog, we got desserts too πŸ™‚ I know so many people don’t agree with the calories on the menu but I think it’s a great idea when possible. Much as I wanted the brownie, we went for the Eton Mess at a couple of hundred calories less and the Carrot Cake. Both desserts were just gorgeous and along with a cappuccino absolutely filled us to the brim.

IMG_8360

IMG_8361

IMG_8359

The total bill for 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 desserts, 3 alcoholic drinks and 2 coffees was just shy of €100…. all the food was delicious, staff were helpful and friendly and it’s a lovely little restaurant… I look forward to returning in the summer when I can soak up some sunshine on that terrace!

Bay Restaurant, 367 Clontarf Road, Clontarf, Dublin 3
Ph: 00353 1 853 2406
Web: https://bay.ie/
FB: https://www.facebook.com/bayrestaurant?fref=ts

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

One thought on “Bay, Clontarf

Leave a Reply

