Choc-Chip Chickpea Blondies – Flour and Eggless

Image-1

You might have noticed that there are less recipes appearing on the blog the past few months… partly it’s a time thing but it’s also the fact I’m trying to eat a bit more healthy than I used to! I haven’t an ounce of willpower so if I’m to whip up a chocolate cake at home on a Saturday then there is NO CHANCE of me just leaving it and bringing it to work Monday to pawn off on my colleagues… it would be half gone by Saturday night – hence me not baking too much any more!

I follow lots of foodie / fitness / yoga people over on my Instagram account (come follow me!!) and it really gives inspiration to start putting a bit of effort into making some changes. The “healthy treats” trend is HUGE! But many of the protein balls and similar recipes involved banging everything into a food processor, which I didn’t have – until now! So prepare for an influx of plenty of food processor friendly recipes πŸ™‚

Anyway, these were really simple to make and have only a few ingredients, which are mainly healthy. I mean chickpeas and natural peanut butter – all pretty virtuous! I thought they’d be rank, but nope, they were surprisingly good! Not like a full on dessert kinda treat but still, staves off the cravings.

Ingredients List
1 tin of chickpeas, drained
135g peanut butter – or whatever nut butter you fancy
150g honey (or agave or 100% pure maple syrup if vegan)
teaspoon vanilla extract
half teaspoon salt
quarter teaspoon baking powder
quarter teaspoon bicarb of soda
pack of chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to approx 180 degrees C / 350 degrees F and line a baking tin with parchment. My tin is about 7 x 7 inches and was the perfect size. A brownie tin or something similar is ideal.

2. In your food processor throw in all of the ingredients apart from the chocolate chips and blitz up to a smooth batter.

IMG_8632

3. Throw in a handful of the chocolate chips and give it a very quick blitz just to mix them through evenly. Then pour the batter into your pre-lined tin and sprinkle some more choc chips over the top… I just threw a load on, I mean it’s a chickpea based cake so I’m allowed a load of chocolate chips right?! πŸ™‚

IMG_8633

4. Bake for approx 30 mins.

IMG_8634

I let them cool fully before cutting them up and just dusting with some icing sugar… for the simple reason that it makes them look better in a picture! So there you go, very few ingredients, super quick to throw together and really tasty for a “healthy” treat! Enjoy πŸ™‚

IMG_8650

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

2 thoughts on “Choc-Chip Chickpea Blondies – Flour and Eggless

  1. Made these yesterday and they are really delish. Trying to cut down on sugar and dairy in bakign as it does not help my hubbie’s sinus problems. Would love to hear about any other ‘healthy’ baking treats.

    • Hiya Lorna – delighted you tried them! πŸ™‚ This is all a new thing for me too so don’t have many other healthy things as yet but it will definitely be a more regular thing. xx

Leave a Reply

