Angelina’s, Dublin

So you know how they say Summer bodies are made in the Winter… that’s a scary thought for me right now! I’ve been eating out LOTS over the last few months, often to old faves hence the lack of new reviews, but also fitting in a new spot here and there. Most recently, I visited Angelina’s on Percy Place. Owned by the ever expanding Press Up Group, the restaurant burst onto the dining scene a few months ago and is as popular as you would imagine from the people who brought us The Dean, Sophie’s, The Liquor Rooms, Cleaver East & Peruke Periwig (I could go on here as they own plenty more!)

The restaurant interior is as you would imagine, given the style of the other venues – pretty slick. If you’ve visited Sophie’s you’ll notice some similarities in the booths and the ceiling also, I love Sophie’s too so no complaints from me there. We visited on a Saturday night and the place was buzzing. So much so that when I booked the table at the start of the week the only availability was 6.15pm or 9.30pm… I’m not a fan of eating so late so we went for 6.15. Getting there a bit early we ordered a bottle of Rose at the bar as the dining room filled up.

IMG_0570

IMG_0569

IMG_0571

Food would be best described as Modern Italian in style. If you’re a regular reader of the blog, by this stage you probably know I barely had to look at the menu – pizza every time! But there were plenty of other options with a good selection of pasta, fish and meat dishes if the carb fest of a wood fired pizza didn’t float your boat – it floats mine though, big time! πŸ™‚

IMG_0568

I decided to skip the starter as I knew my main would be pretty filling and I wanted dessert… plus I may have influenced my dining partner’s choice by pushing the beef & burrata dish so I could have a taste of the cheese! I ADORE burrata and was told the rest of the dish was equally as good…. it was at the higher end of the scale for a starter at €12.

IMG_0565
Beef Bresaola, Clementine, Burrata, Chilli Honey

No surprises on my main choice of the veggie pizza – it was super. Nothing was left on the plate… nada, not a crumb!

IMG_0459
Pizza with Wild Mushrooms, Spinach, Truffle (€13)

The seabass looked divine and almost made me yearn for my non-veggie days… almost πŸ™‚

IMG_0566
Wood Fired Sea Bass, Chilli, Parsley & Garlic with Fennel Heirloom Tomato Salad (€26)

IMG_0567

I was all cheesed out and a bit too full for the chocolate option for dessert so went for the Honeycomb Sundae and wasn’t disappointed. This is certainly one for those with a sweet tooth and it won’t have helped the waistline, but it was so good!

IMG_0572
Vanilla Honeycomb Sundae, Toasted Pecans, Salted Caramel Sauce (€7.95)

Not wanting to leave after our meal, we grabbed the very last seat at one of the bars for a drink while watching the chefs hard at work making pizza after pizza!

IMG_0574

First up was a decent G & T….

IMG_0575

Followed by 2 Grand Canal Sours…..

IMG_0576

Needless to say after those I was a tad merry! All in all, great food and drinks in Angelina’s and definitely a spot worthy of a visit.

Bill below is excluding the G& T’s and cocktails but includes a second bottle of wine – I KNOW!! πŸ™‚

IMG_0573

Angelina’s, 55 Percy Pl, Dublin
You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!
Leave a Reply

