Brunch at The Greenery, Portobello

Ahhh… it seems that Summer may finally be on the way! Well, I may be slightly optimistic there but we’ve got a forecast for some warm weather this week anyway so we’ll be grateful for that much πŸ™‚

If you follow me on Instagram you’ll see that once the rain holds off I love being outdoors, walks by the sea or the mountains on the weekend are my favourite thing to do. Myself and a friend of mine are trying to branch out our activities so recently bought an online deal for paddle boarding (still too cold for that!) and kayaking. So last bank holiday Sunday morning we plodding along to Portobello to do a bit of kayaking along the canal – take it from me that it’s not quite as easy as it looks!

IMG_1630

For me, any sort of activity means lunch or brunch afterwards – obviously! We were parked nearby on Lennox Street and spotted The Greenery as we were leaving. It’s on such a pretty street with some gorgeous houses and super close to the canal. With it’s bright awning and couple of outdoor seats it’s a really inviting spot.

IMG_1642

I already knew from word of mouth that this was a popular place so after drying off and changing from our soaked clothes we ventured inside hopeful of a seat. It was pretty full but luckily a couple left just as we arrived so we bagged a table.

IMG_1645

IMG_1644

There was both Brunch and Lunch sections on the menu, the brunch menu offering a full breakfast, a couple of egg dishes, avocado on toast, french toast or the healthier oats granola and greek yoghurt. The lunch section had the more substantial choices, some being burger & chips, fish & chips, chicken wings, steak sandwich or piri piri chicken fillet burger.

IMG_1648

Being a veggie who has an egg intolerance I was pretty limited. But I ADORE avocados so it was no hardship to go for the avocado on granary toast. With rocket, feta, chilli and some mint it certainly beat my at home creation of mashed up avo with a squeeze of lemon! I also got a lovely side of buttery portobello mushrooms.

IMG_1641

While I don’t eat meat any more I can still appreciate what looks like a great burger.. and this did look great, piled high with crispy onions and a big floury bap and a tasty side of fries.

IMG_1646

Wanting something sweet to offset my virtuous avocado on toast, I decided to have a scone and a coffee. It was served warm , alongside butter, cream and jam – delicious!

IMG_1643

IMG_1647

While I think €9 is slightly overpriced for my dish I couldn’t complain about the quality, I just maybe would have expected more avocado for that price tag. Overall we both really enjoyed the food and atmosphere in The Greenery and I’d certainly recommend it for a leisurely brunch if you are around the area.

IMG_1679

Web: http://www.thegreenery.ie/
Ph: 00353 1475 9743
Twitter: https://twitter.com/thegreeneryd8

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

Leave a Reply

