Craft, Harold’s Cross

I had to rack my brains to think where this new-ish spot in Harold’s Cross was when I heard of it’s opening. Countless bus trips passing through on my way to town has given me some familiarity with Harold’s Cross but other than Beckett & Bull, I’ve rarely actually had reason to spend an evening around the area. It’s housed in the premises where the Black Apple Cafe was and while on street pay and display parking may be a pain, it’s the only down side I found to this delightful casual neighbourhood restaurant.

IMG_1713

It was a lovely sunny evening when I visited and the sun very much brings on some wine cravings for me…. unfortunately I was driving so couldn’t indulge! With a small bar area and the specials board including the wines of the week this is the perfect little place for a few vinos.

IMG_1721

While it’s a small enough footprint, they have maximised space and made it light and airy.

IMG_1719

IMG_1720

The Neighbourhood Menu runs from 5.30pm – 7.00pm on Wednesday & Thursday and 5.30pm – 6.30pm on Friday & Saturday. This offers 2 courses for €20 or 3 for €25.

IMG_1722

Or there is always the standard menu with starters in and around €9 and mains ranging from €19 – €23.

IMG_1723

We tried the Wild Garlic Arancini with spring peas, hazlenuts and parmesan. Not only does this bright dish look fantastic, it tasted amazing too.

IMG_1718

 

IMG_1717

The mains of choice were Rump & Shoulder of Spring lamb with smoked onion & carrot…

IMG_1716

Along with the veggie option of New season Asparagus with morels, potato and truffle cream. This dish is usually served with a soft egg but as I can’t eat eggs they just gave me extras of the delicious roasted potatoes.

IMG_1715

Presentation and taste were consistent throughout but the dessert was absolutely beautiful and finished the meal perfectly. The apple cake with buttermilk custard and tarragon  was one of the nicest desserts that I’ve tried (and that’s a LOT!)

IMG_1712

So with a couple of glasses of wine and a cappuccino the grand total was less than €70 for a fantastic meal in lovely surrounds. I would without doubt recommend Craft to anyone in the area and even say that it’s worth traveling to … I’ve also heard good things about their Brunch so that will be next on my hit list! It also has to be said that their staff were among the nicest I’ve had the pleasure of being served by, which always adds to the experience 🙂

IMG_1714

Craft, 208 Harold’s Cross Road, Harold’s Cross, Dublin 6W
Web: http://www.craftrestaurant.ie/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/craftbistro

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

One thought on “Craft, Harold’s Cross

Leave a Reply

