The Cookbook Cafe, Glasthule

I think we all have our favourite places that we like to go come the weekend. If you follow me on Instagram you will see that I spend A LOT of time by the sea. I love it, the sight of an expanse of water and the noise of the waves lapping up just relaxes me and I try to get out there once a week.

While I do like a trip to Howth or Malahide, I’m a South Side girl at heart πŸ™‚ Dun Laoghaire and Killiney are my favourite places to pass a few hours looking out to sea. And of course no day by the sea is complete without some food thrown into the mix. The market in the People’s Park is pretty much Foodie Heaven, but can also be thronged with crowds on a good day. So more recently I’ve had my stroll along the pier and up to the Forty Foot, then meandered into Glasthule and had some lunch there.

IMG_3013

The Cookbook Cafe was opened by chef Audrey McDonald and as indicated by the name, shelves of cookbooks adorn the walls for customers to flick through and take inspiration from. The interior is casual and cosy and there’s a small seating area out front should you get the weather to take your meal al fresco!

IMG_3017

IMG_3018

IMG_3014

On both occasions I visited, their weekend Brunch menu was running offering varied options of egg dishes, salad, pancakes or something more substantial in the burger or steak sandwich. There was plenty of choice on the menu, sweet or savoury, healthy or not so healthy!

IMG_3020

Between the two visits we tried a few options on the menu … my favourite was the Ottolenghi plate which really satisfied my love for having different tastes and textures all in the one dish.

IMG_2983

IMG_3016
Ottolenghi Plate with falafel, halloumi, hummous, beet puree, fattoush, grilled aubergine, sumac yoghurt & flatbreadΒ Β Β  €13.50

IMG_3019
Beef burger with cheddar, tomato & caramelized red onionΒ  €11.95

IMG_3009
Superfood Salad – Chickpeas, roasted squash, baby spinach, kale, beets, blueberries, avocado, mixed seeds w/pomegranate €10.95

IMG_3012
Cookbook Breakfast – two free range eggs, bacon,Β sausages, black pudding, house hash, tomatoes,Β toast €11.95

Seeing as both of my main choices wee healthy enough I indulged in a dessert, Eton Mess style… a giant bowl or sugary deliciousness!

IMG_3015
Cookbook Mess €5.50

Cookbook Cafe is the perfect option if you want a bite to eat just slightly out of the busy spot of Dun Laoghaire and can’t be doing with the queues of the market!

Web: http://www.cookbookcafe.ie/

You can also follow me on <a title=”Twitter” href=”https://twitter.com/kateskabin&#8221; target=”_blank”>Twitter</a> or <a title=”Facebook” href=”https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin&#8221; target=”_blank”>Facebook </a>to keep up to date!

One thought on “The Cookbook Cafe, Glasthule

Leave a Reply

