Locks, Windsor Terrace

There have been numerous changes to Locks over the years… be it the owners and chefs, the interior, the exterior and a slight name change to boot. Most recently the revamp has given it a more relaxed neighborhood restaurant vibe and oh if only it were my neighborhood and I lived along the canal!

img_4658

The restaurant is in a great spot, tables close to the windows look right out to the water and give a perfect “people watching” opportunity at the many passers by. The dining room is warm and cosy while still light and spacious. On a chilly Autumn evening it was nice to be greeted by with a smile and invited through to this welcoming space.

img_4652

img_4653

Being mid-week we had the option of availing of the Market Menu. This offers two courses for €22 and three for €28 before 7pm or €28 / €34 if after 7pm.

img_4660

Personally I have no idea how people resist the bread before meals, for me it’s an absolute  must! We ordered the crusty sourdough bread to fill the gap while we waited for our meal.

img_4654

To start we both went down the veggie route with the Beetroot and the Risotto dishes. The presentation of the beetroot dish was one of the prettiest I have seen and it the taste was on an equal par – the smoked yoghurt was delicious!

img_4111
Iona Farm Beets, Smoked Yoghurt, Pickled Onions

It’s no mean feat to make risotto look appealing, but the addition of the trompettes and shaved truffle did the job. I actually chose this starter option as my main and it was the best risotto I’ve had, which as a veggie who likes to east out is quite a lot! Perfect comfort food on a chilly evening…

img_4655
Roasted Cauliflower Risotto, Black Trompettes, Fresh Truffle

The other main couldn’t have been further from my choice – the braised beef. Slow cooked to perfection, the meat fell apart once the knife ran through it…

img_4663
Braised Beef Short Rib, Crisp Oxtail, Girolles, Spring Onion

The beef was served with a side of champ and we ordered an extra side of chips…. we switched those around and I somehow managed my risotto with a portion of champ – carb on carb 🙂

img_4656
Duck Fat Chips & Champ Potato

I honestly think that dessert must go to a different stomach!  No matter how full I am, give me 15 minutes to digest my meal and I’m completely up for a dessert. We decided to share on this occasion and went for the plum sponge. Definitely the right choice! The sponge was light and springy and the combination of tangy plum with the yoghurt ice cream was  fantastic.

img_4112
Greengage Plum Sponge, Meadowsweet & Yoghurt Ice Cream

The bill which included a sparkling water, coffee and glass of wine was just shy of a very reasonable €70.

img_4659

I never visited Locks in any of it’s previous versions but I can certainly say that I was impressed with this one. The Market Menu offers such good quality food at a really good price in a lovely setting – add it to your “list”!

Locks Restaurant, 1 Windsor Terrace, Portobello, Dublin 8
Ph: 00353 1 4163655

Web: http://www.locksrestaurant.ie/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/LocksRestaurant
FB: https://www.facebook.com/locksatonewindsorterrace/?fref=ts

You can also follow me on Instagram, Facebook or Twitter!

Leave a Reply

