Pichet, Dublin

Well what a beautiful weekend that was! Over the past few weeks we’ve had a few glorious days in Dublin and I for one made the absolute most of it getting out and about by the sea and in the city… taking it all in and enjoying the fantastic vibe in Dublin when the sun shines.

A couple of weeks ago was Mother’s Day. Not wanting to spend the actual day amidst the madness of a restaurant on what would undoubtedly be manic, I decided to take my Mam out on the Saturday. We went into town and had a little mosy around in the sunshine and then dropped into The Westbury for a drink. I really enjoyed my Gunpowder gin which is my drink of choice at the moment… I was less enamoured at spending €10.80 for a small enough cappuccino and americano though it has to be said!

IMG_7421

After our drinks we wandered down to Trinity Street where I had booked dinner in Pichet. I have not heard a bad word said about this place over the last few years and wanting somewhere failsafe to treat my mother, I chose this place and hoped it wouldn’t disappoint.

IMG_7516

The bistro style restaurant has been open for about 7 years I think, and last year re opened after renovations. The exterior is fresh and the interior is equally impressive. There is a lovely bar area on entering where you can sit and have a few drinks and some tapas, it then opens back into the dining area and open kitchen.

IMG_7519

IMG_7524

We opted for the Early Bird which offers 2 courses for €22 or 3 for €28. It’s short and sweet with a choice of 3 for each course but there are ample options for most palates with the exception of a red meat choice under the Mains section.

IMG_7517

I started with the Spring Vegetable Risotto with pea shoots and Five Mile Town Goats Cheese. It was a beautiful Spring dish, so colourful and fresh with the rice cooked perfectly.

IMG_7518

For mains we went for the Gnocchi which was served with with roast cauliflower, capers & smoked gubeen….

IMG_7521

…And the Cornfed Chicken served with cabbage, truffle polenta and mushrooms.

IMG_7520

We both really enjoyed our mains… While it’s pretty hard to make gnocchi look too impressive it really did taste delicious. I didn’t manage to finish it after having a pretty carb-y starter but I made a good effort!

I hadn’t intended on ordering dessert… but… well… they sounded too good to pass up πŸ™‚ And they were!

I went for the White Chocolate Mousse with Blackberry Sorbet and 100’s & 1000’s … absolutely delicious! This chocolate fest may be too much for some people but nothing is ever too sweet or too rich for me so I thoroughly enjoyed it.

IMG_7523

Mam went for the Mango Creme Brulee with Hob Nob… again, another empty dish after this was devoured.

IMG_7522

The total bill for a 3 course, a 2 course and 2 glasses of wine was €67.50… absolutely fantastic value for such great food! I loved the food here and will most definitely be paying a return visit.

IMG_7525

Pichet, 15 Trinity Street, Dublin 2
Ph: 01 677 1060Β  Web: http://pichet.ie/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/pichetdublinΒ Β Β  FB: https://www.facebook.com/PichetDublin/

You can also follow me on Instagram, Facebook or Twitter!
Β 

Leave a Reply

