The Port House Ibericos, Dundrum

IMG_9057

Another week, another review of a Dundrum restaurant! The Town Centre is where I spend a fair amount of time catching up with my Mam… me wandering around Penny’s, her dragging me around M & S … it usually ends with a bite to eat somewhere so we both go home happy 🙂

There’s been a few new additions in the past year but one spot that’s been here for a while and a firm favourite with us both is The Port House Ibericos in the Pembroke District. I’m a MASSIVE fan of the Port House on South William Street. The menu in the Dundrum restaurant is the same, a huge selection of tapas dishes both hot and cold, cheese and cured meats and desserts…. Food heaven for me! I love to get a few dishes and share them around so you get lots of different tastes – I hate to miss out and have food envy of my fellow diner’s dishes!

It was a Sunday lunchtime when we popped by and thankfully it wasn’t overly busy. This is a popular spot and I’ve often visited and it’s absolutely packed. The seats in all of their restaurants are pretty close together so you can end up having a not so private chat over your tapas! However on this occasion there was enough space for us to get a table without people beside us. The interior is so nice with beautiful stonework and plenty of candles. I know that the restaurant on South William Street is very dark and romantic while this one is a bit lighter and more casual.

IMG_9055

IMG_9053

 

There is SO MUCH choice on the menu here, I literally want a bit of everything on the menu so find it hard to choose. Most dishes are from about €3.50 up to some specials in and around the €8 mark, but mostly about €5 – €6.

One of the dishes I almost always get is the meatballs which are fabulous. We got about 5 large meatballs in a beautiful rich tomato sauce, well priced at €6.95.

IMG_9052

Next was the croquetas filled with chicken, €3.75. Another generous sized dish with 3 croquetas filled with such soft chicken.

IMG_9050

Mam’s a big chickpea fan so we got the chickpeas with black pudding, spinach, raisins and pine nuts, €5.75. This was a big pile of chickpeas to dig into… I will say that I didn’t taste much black pudding in this dish though!

IMG_9051

Last up was the skewered chicken marinated in paprika and oregano, €4.95. We got a few skewers of beautifully succulent, fresh chicken.

IMG_9049

If I’m out for dinner in the Port House I’d usually finish this all off with the most amazing dessert that I’ve ever tasted – the churros. Deep fried Spanish style doughnuts served with a little pot of chocolate dipping sauce. I swear to you they are to die for. On this occasion though, I had some willpower and skipped dessert! Instead we had a coffee and a lovely cappuccino.

IMG_9054

With 4 dishes, a coffee, a cappuccino and a glass of white wine, the bill was a reasonable €32. If you have yet to try tapas or have already fallen in love with it but not yet been to any of the Port House restaurants you should definitely give them a shot – they don’t disappoint!

The Port House Ibericos
5/6 Pembroke Cottage
Dundrum
Co. Dublin

http://porthouse.ie/ibericos/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ThePortHouse

You can also follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/KatesKabin

Or Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kateskabin

4 thoughts on “The Port House Ibericos, Dundrum

  1. Love this place, especially the outdoor patio in summer… So I think all that’s left for you in Dundrum is Cortinas. My brother did their “man v food” ghost chilli wings challenge there recently. Needless to say he didn’t finish them!

    • Do you know I just said the other day that Cortina’s and The Counter are the only places left for me to try there! Oh and that Roly’s place actually. I haven’t heard about that wings challenge – off to look it up now! I’ll get to them all eventually 🙂

Leave a comment