Bagots Hutton, Ormond Quay

Hello strangers! I know it’s been a little while since I’ve posted… truthfully I’ve been so busy with work and teaching yoga that I haven’t really been eating out quite so much, and even if I had I’m not sure where I’d find the time for regular blog posts these days … so a more sporadic approach it is 🙂

I’ve also been re-visiting restaurants the past while as opposed to trying out new ones each week or so, hence the lack of news to share with you. However, there was one place I went to a couple of times a little while ago that I’ll share with you today. A few years ago I reviewed Bagots Hutton on South William Street, and this year they opened a second spot along the quays which I had wanted to try for a while. On a long overdue catch up with a friend, we decided on a few cocktails in The Morrison Hotel and then to mosey up to Bagots Hutton and see if the pizza here was quite as good as it’s sister restaurant!

I had previously dropped by for a quick lunch while over that side of town and was impressed enough to want a full meal there. The second location is more of a “venue” than just a restaurant, with  different sections. The front part is where I sat for lunch and really enjoyed… a nice window seat looking out to the Liffey was perfect for some people watching. Interior in the section is nice, although the artwork may not to to everyone’s taste! 🙂

IMG_3371

IMG_3369

Towards the back of this floor is more of an “event” kind of space with a bar and stage, when I returned in the evening this was being used for a company social event.

IMG_3370

Then downstairs there is the basement seating area which has a few booths.

On my first visit the chef kindly did a veggie option which wasn’t on the menu and rustled me up an absolutely fabulous bowl of gnocchi, which was followed by a coffee. This was a flying visit but I enjoyed it, food was good and staff were friendly and efficient.

IMG_3368

IMG_3372

Second time around we weren’t so lucky with our seating allocation. We’d booked a few weeks in advance and it was only a table for two, however we were put down in the basement area. Unfortunately I forgot to take pics! But there are 2 or 3 booths and then there were 2 quite random tables just set out in the middle of the floor in front of the kitchen and alongside where the entrance to the loo is. I wasn’t overly enamoured to be spending the evening sitting here to be honest as there was just no atmosphere. There was a real disconnect from the rest of the restaurant and with just 3 other people sat in one of the booths it felt a little like you were dining alone.

Starter options were an Antipasti plate, Caprese salad and two types of Bruschetta. Main course offerings were a variety of pizzas, Pork Chop, Seabream or a veggie option of aubergine parmigiana.

IMG_4050

We went for the Caprese salad and the Pomodoro Bruschetta to share for starters. Both were nice, nothing outstanding but nothing at all to complain about. We had also ordered a beautiful bottle of Negromaro which went down way to easily along with the chats and our starters!

IMG_4045

IMG_4044

As I’d missed out on trying their pizza first time round, I was already decided on what my main would be and I went for a veggie version with mushrooms, peppers, sundried tomatoes and tender-stem broccoli. It was everything I love in a pizza, heavy on the cheese, a nice base – absolutely delicious!

IMG_4046

The pork chop was served on a bed of potato, carrots and tender-stem broccoli and gravy… while I didn’t taste any of it the feedback was that it was good.

IMG_4047

There were three choices for dessert – Tiramisu, Raspberry Cheesecake or a trio of gelato… however we decided we’d eaten plenty and could do with another cocktail. We chose an Espresso Martini and an Amaretto Sour which unfortunately weren’t up to standard at all really. Both were pretty wishy washy, lacked strength and were left unfinished… definitely not worth the €14 / €13 price tag!

IMG_4048

IMG_4049

All in all I’m a little bit undecided …. I really enjoyed my food both times which is of course the main thing, however I wouldn’t want to eat there again if I were seated downstairs and the cocktails could definitely do with some work! All that said, the pizza in both locations has been some of the best I’ve had in Dublin!

Bagots Hutton
6 Ormond Quay Upper
Dublin
http://www.bagotshutton.com/
Ph: 003531 878 8118

You can also follow me on Instagram, Facebook or Twitter to keep up to date!

Leave a comment