Lumanti of Nepal, Rathgar

IMG_9784

I’ve recently started trying to go to more restaurants out of town. I absolutely love going out in the city but it’s never cheap and I can’t resist the temptation of all the nice bars around town and end up spending a fortune! Eating local for me usually means a more relaxed night, just a couple of drinks and a lot less costly 🙂

I’m often around the areas of Ternure, Rathfarnham and Rathgar when eating with my Mam and have been delighted that the quality in the places I’ve tried has been great. I recently reviewed Vermillion in Terenure and Bijou Bistro in Rathgar… and now I’ve another one to add to the list – Lumanti of Nepal.

The restaurant is on the Rathhgar Road, just slightly out of the village and you may be more familiar with the name Monty’s of Kathmandu, which it used to be called. The interior is beautiful with seating areas downstairs and upstairs….Lots of dark wood and shining glasses.

 

IMG_9780

IMG_9773

IMG_9774

I’ve eaten from the main menu and also the Early Bird here. On this visit we chose the Early Bird – really super value at €16/€17 for 2 courses (depending if you get meat courses or veggie) and €19/€20 for 3 courses.

While we perused the menu they gave us the obligatory poppadoms and dips which I am a sucker for!

IMG_9772

To start both E and my Mam chose the Aloo Woo, a spiced potato cake with coriander and chillies. They really enjoyed them… I had a taster and found them slightly too dry for my liking but tasty none the less.

IMG_9776

I was much more pleased with my own choice! Masu Ko Bari… cubes of spiced minced lamb with spices and herbs in a tomato sauce. The meat was so soft and seasoned perfectly – it was a fantastic starter.

IMG_9775

Onto mains. E chose the Bandel Tareko, spicy barbequed pork strips with onion, ginger, garlic, chillies and herbs. It was a fab dish… not as much sauce as many Nepalese dishes might have so I donated a little of mine when his rice got a bit dry 🙂

IMG_9778

Myself and Mam went for the La Cauli, Chicken curry with cauliflower, and Nya Qwa, a hot sweet and sour king prawn curry. Agin I was delighted with my dish, it was nothing like a sweet and sour dish from the Chinese which I’d worried about! The meat and prawns in each were succulent and fresh – devine!

IMG_9777

We had some Naan and rice along with the dishes and were too stuffed for dessert – for once!

IMG_9779

We did manage a nice coffee though as we chilled out after the meal.

IMG_9781

Lumanti is somewhere that I think doesn’t get enough recognition for som great quality food and a fantastic Early Bird. If you find yourself in the ara be sure to drop in and try it out for yourself! 🙂

IMG_9782

Lumanti of Nepal, 88 Rathgar Road, Dublin 6
Ph: 003531 492 0633
Web: http://www.lumanti.ie/#
FB: https://www.facebook.com/LumantiOfNepal
Twitter: https://twitter.com/LumantiofNepal

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

2 thoughts on “Lumanti of Nepal, Rathgar

Leave a comment