Cherry & Coconut Muffins

muffins header

It’s been a few weeks since we had a Friday Treat here so I’m not feeling guilty about this one! I’ve been so busy the last few months that baking has been on the back-burner and when I do get around to it, it’s more simple things that I’ve made instead of decent cakes etc (yes, I realise even my idea of a “decent cake” isn’t exactly complicated!! 🙂 )

I had a bag of coconut at home and was trying to think what to do with it. I would usually make my AMAZING Bounty Bars but they can be messy with the chocolate all over the place, so I came up with these. I love the combo of the cherry and coconut and they are super easy to make. Give them a try!

Ingredients List
100g butter, at room temp
100g caster sugar
2 eggs, beaten
175g self-raising flour
5 tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 tablespoons desiccated coconut
100g glace cherries, chopped up roughly

To decorate
70g raspberry jam
4 tablespoons desiccated coconut

1. Heat the oven to 180° or about 160 if you have a fan oven & line your muffin tray with 8 cases.

2. Beat the butter and the sugar together until it’s pale and smooth. Add in the eggs and beat … it will look a bit gloopy and messy now but don’t worry, it will come together!

3. Sieve in the flour and fold together then add the milk, vanilla and coconut then mix until combined.

4. Spoon the mix into your muffin cases and bake for about 25 minutes or until they start to turn a golden colour.

muffins steps

Leave them to cool for a few minutes before decorating.

muffins baked

To decorate the top, put your jam into a small pan and heat slowly until it’s smooth. Brush the tops of the muffins with the jam (plenty of it!). Throw your coconut into a small bowl and roll the jam covered muffins in it to stick the coconut on top, they should look similar to this:

muffins header

And that’s it! Kids love these and they are simple to make so ideal for a party treat 🙂

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

Leave a comment