2014 – my year in food!

2014 was a pretty busy year for me… I ate out quite a lot and got to experience some really great places. The Dublin food scene is just fantastic at the moment and I really can’t keep up with all the new openings (nor can I afford to!) I make the effort though… here’s some of my best bits from the year gone by…

I had a gorgeous leisurely lunch in Marcel’s in Ballsbridge. On a lovely summer’s day this was the perfect treat.

tuna

A friend gifted me a voucher for The Pig’s Ear on Nassau Street… I wasn’t sure what to expect of their Modern Irish cuisine but it was a great meal and I was pleasantly surprised!

IMG_2621

I’m always on the lookout for a bargain and when I spotted a deal for Saison on Kildare Street I snapped it up – one of the best meals I had all year!

IMG_2481

My best Brunch experience was in The Butcher’s Grill in Ranelagh – this scotch egg was amazing!

egg open

I discovered a couple of little gems on my way too. The best pizza I’ve had the pleasure of tasting was from a gorgeous little cafe in Howth, Il Panorama Cafe. If you are ever out that neck of the woods it’s a must!

pizza 1

Just the other week I had a fab Carbonara in Caffe Italiano in none other than Temple Bar – just delicious!

IMG_3729

It seems many of my favourite meals involve Italian food as here’s another one I loved. Fiorentina on Parliament Street gave top class food and the early bird was super value.

IMG_1581

As ever I had a couple of lovely hotel stays throughout the year but surprisingly my best ones were in Dublin hotels. Neither were cheap but both spots were fantastic. The spa and pool area in The Marker Hotel was particularly nice!

pool

And I recently stayed in the brand new and much talked about Dean Hotel on Harcourt Street.. while I didn’t get much sleep it is a FAB place and Sophie’s bar is definitely worth popping into for drinks.

IMG_3678

There’s always a few foodie days out thrown in and again I had great experiences at Taste of Dublin and the Tapas Trail which I do each year, bookmark them for next year if you haven’t yet been!

MICHEL ROUX

Unfortunately myself and E parted ways recently so he will no longer be referred to in all my reviews… I shall need to find a new buddy for eating out with! My plans for 2015 are to just keep enjoying this fabulous city that we live in and discovering all the fantastic food spots that are on our doorstep! For now though I will be off for my Christmas Eve Afternoon Tea in the Westbury and spending the holidays with my amazing mother and great friends! I hope you all have a fantastic Christmas and New Year and look forward to lots more blog interaction in 2015!

IMG_8283

You can also follow me on Twitter or Facebook to keep up to date!

6 thoughts on “2014 – my year in food!

  1. Love that little place in Howth and I’ve never had a Scotch egg! I need to fix that ASAP! Sorry to hear about the parting ways, I did the same myself this time last year. *hugs*
    See you in 2015 no doubt! Emma Xx

Leave a comment